Subject Guides: GRK 1102/6102 THEO 6102 Koine Greek II. History of Exegesis/Interpretation Assignment (Ewald): Find Sermons

Introduction

Library of Congress Subject Heading Sermons (or other database-specific controlled vocabulary)

This page remains even more than usually "in progress". It will be filled out as time permits.

[Check the great (period) theological dictionaries sv Homilies, Sermons, etc. (all languages). Check also the dictionaries of preaching and the sermon, all languages.]

Library of Congress Free-Floating Subdivision —Sermons (or other database-specific controlled vocabulary)
Used "as a form subdivision under names of individual persons and under sects of individual religions, Christian denominations, types of educational institutions, uniform titles of sacred works [(as in Bible. John, III, 3 —Sermons)], individual wars, and topical headings for individual or collections of sermons on those subjects."
Used "as a topical subdivision under names of individual persons and under sects of individual religions, Christian denominations, types of educational institutions, uniform titles of sacred works [(as in Bible. John, III, 3 —Sermons)], individual wars, and topical headings for works about sermons on those subjects."
Indices to (the critical edition or translation of) a single author's Complete works, Selected works, or Sermons (in perhaps many volumes)
Indices to (the critical edition or translation of) a multi-author collection or selection or anthology of sermons (in perhaps many volumes)

All periods

Classic Sermon Index
Sermons in English or English translation only at this point, but impressive nonetheless. SPU does not yet subscribe, but individuals can.
"Sermon Index," Mack Library, Bob Jones University
Christian Classics Ethereal Library

Patristic period

[Mine the following: EAC2, sv Homilies, Sermons, etc.; RAC; etc.]

Clavis patrum Graecorum
Clavis patrum Latinorum
Grégoire. Homéliaires liturgiques médiévaux. Analyse de manuscrits. 1981.
Includes a "list of incipitarii intended to facilitate . . . identification" and "an alphabetical list of patristic homilies frequently cited or present in the homiliaries" (Grégoire in the EAC, sv "Homily").
Sieben. Kirchenväterhomilien zum Neuen Testament: ein Repertorium der Textausgaben und Übersetzungen, mit einem Anhang der Kirchenväterkommentare. Steenbrugis: In Abbatia S. Petri, 1991. Summit.

Medieval period

[Mine the following, among others: Medieval sermon studies newsletter (1977- ); DMA, sv "Preaching, Western"; LMA; etc.]

Exempla databases of GAHOM
Select Bases de données: "databases for those studying exempla, the moralizing tales so often told in [medieval] sermons" (Anne T. Thayer, "Medieval sermon studies since The Sermon," Medieval sermon studies 57 (2014): 14):
- Biblieux
- RELEx
- RELI
- ThEMA
- TIMEL
Grégoire. Homéliaires liturgiques médiévaux. Analyse de manuscrits. 1981.
Includes a "list of incipitarii intended to facilitate . . . identification" and "an alphabetical list of patristic homilies frequently cited or present in the homiliaries" (Grégoire in the EAC, sv "Homily").
Repertorium der lateinischen Sermones des Mittelalters . . .

Repertorium of Middle Dutch sermons preserved in manuscripts from before 1550. Ed. Sherwood-Smith & Stopp; Ermens & van Dijk. 7 vols. Peeters, 2008.

Repertorium of Middle English prose sermons. Ed. O'Mara & Paul. 4 vols. Brepols, 2007.

Identifies biblical allusions.

The sermon. Ed. Kienzle. Typologie des sources du Moyen Âge Occidental 81-83. Brepols, 2000.

Sermones Compilati

"Publications on this website focus on the source texts of Hungarian sermon literature of late medieval and early modern times."

Sermones.net: Édition électronique d'un corpus de sermons latins médiévaux

See also the "Bibliographie générale".

Reformation and Early modernity

American Sermons, Series 1 & 2, 1652-1819 (Readex)
No Scripture field (Keyword searching only), and unavailable here.
Gateway to Early Modern Manuscript Sermons (GEMMS)
John Donne Sermons
"The text of this electronic archive is based on the ten-volume Sermons of John Donne, edited by George Potter and Evelyn Simpson and published by University of California Press between 1953-1962." It is being replaced by the unmodernized edition of the Sermons published by Oxford University Press.
Sermones Compilati
"Publications on this website focus on the source texts of Hungarian sermon literature of late medieval and early modern times."
Works of Jonathan Edwards
Works of Jonathan Edwards. Sermon Index (Chronological)
[Works of] George Whitefield [Online]

Katalog gedrückter deutschsprachiger katholischer Predigtsammlungen. Ed. Welzig. 2 vols. Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, 1984-1987.
Summit. A Register of Widmungsadressaten, but no Scripture index, unfortunately.

19th-21st Centuries

American Sermons, Series 1 & 2, 1652-1819 (Readex)
No Scripture field (Keyword searching only), and unavailable here.

Digital Karl Barth Library
features online editions of the Church Dogmatics plus 13 additional titles by Barth in English translation; Die Kirchliche Dogmatik; the first 45 volumes of the standard Gesamtausgabe; and seven additional works in the original German that have not yet appeared in the Gesamtausgabe.