Subject Guides: GRK 1102/6102 THEO 6102 Koine Greek II. History of Exegesis/Interpretation Assignment (Ewald): Find (Commentary in) Articles, Reformation / Early Modern

Introduction

I have not included here all of the serial bibliographies available only in print. For one (now thoroughly outdated) list of them, see Michael J. Walsh, Religious bibliographies in serial literature: a guide (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983), BL48 .W34 1981.

SPU and Open-Access

To identify articles, use a database (more accurately a periodical index or serial bibliography).

SPU databases will link to SPU full-text quite automatically. Open-access databases will not. So use the latter (Google Scholar only excepted) in conjunction with Finding the Full Text.

Atla Religion Database & AtlaSerials
This database, produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journals and essay collections in religion, with links to full text. Its coverage extends from 1949 to the present, with some retrospective indexing underway.
Index Theologicus (lxTheo)
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus Festschriften and congress publications. Its coverage extends from 1970 to the present.
Literature by and about Karl Barth
offers an online, searchable bibliography of literature by and about the Swiss-German theologian Karl Barth (1886-1968). It contains information about both primary and secondary literature. At present, the database contains most publications from 1995 onward and is kept up to date. Bibliographic references to books and dissertations published prior to 1995 are available in the database, those of articles and reviews are being added gradually.
Calvinism Resources Database
provides bibliographic information for articles, essays, and lectures produced from the 16th century to the present that deal with John Calvin and 16th-century Calvinism.

Recent Scholarship Bibliographies, Friends Historical Association
These appear first under the heading "Articles and publications" in the journal Quaker history, and date back (under that title specifically) to 1983, not 2005.

Internationale Bonhoeffer-Bibliographie
Scholarship on the life and works of Dietrich Bonhoeffer from 1933 to the present, as prosecuted in at least sixteen languages, and beginning with the Works themselves (and translations thereof). Maintained for the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Portal by the Hochschulbibliothek of the Europa-Universität Flensburg.

Abraham Kuyper Bibliography

Bibliographie MelLit
"encompasses all scholarly research on Philip Melanchthon (1497–1560) published from 1991 onwards and complements existing bibliographical aids", many of which are listed at the link above.

"Pietismus-Bibliographie"
Annually, in the SPU journal Pietismus und Neuzeit.
Curran Index: Additions, Corrections, and Expansions of the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodials
"a reference tool and ongoing research project whose mission is to identify the men and women whose stories, poems, and articles appeared anonymously in nineteenth-century British periodicals."
Neue Literatur zur zwinglischen Reformation
Annually in the journal Zwingliana. Select Bibliographien in the box to the left.

Comprehensive Bibliography on Syriac Christianity
The Center for the Study of Christianity has compiled centuries of academic research on Syriac Christianity into a bibliography accessible to scholars in Syriac studies, early and medieval Christianity, rabbinic Judaism, Islam, comparative religion and Semitic linguistics. Truncate as follows: Ephr (returns Ephräm, Ephraem, Ephrem, etc.), Jon (returns Jona, Jonah, Jonas, and Jonás, but not, of course, Giona), Nin (returns Nineveh, Ninive, etc.).

Jesuit Online Bibliography
"The Jesuit Online Bibliography is a free, collaborative, multilingual, and fully searchable database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century. This project provides the citations, abstracts, subject categories, and direct links to books, book chapters, journal articles, book reviews, and other works related to the study of Jesuit history, spirituality, educational heritage, and pedagogy. The editorial oversight of the Jesuit Online Bibliography is a collaborative effort between Jesuit institutions -- the Archivum Romanum Societatis Iesu, the Jesuitica Project at KU Leuven, and the Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies at Boston College."

Religion & Philosophy Collection
offers 300-plus full-text journals, covering world religions, denominations, biblical studies, history of philosophy & religion, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, and moral philosophy.

UW, SU, SPL, and KCLS

Seattle Public Library and King County Library System databases are accessible to anyone with SPL and KCLS accounts. University of Washington databases you must be in a UW library to use.

Archiv für Reformationsgeschichte. Beiheft, Literaturbericht
Annually in the Beiheft to the Archiv für Reformationsgeschichte. University of Washington Suzzallo-Allen Stacks Z7830 .A7.
Bibliographie Internationalis de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance
University of Washington Suzzallo-Allen Stacks Z6207 .R4B5.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Now included in the Atla Religion Database.
Elenchus of Biblica
Lemieux Library Periodicals, Seattle University. Section XX on the history of the biblical sciences (Historia Scientiae Biblicae) is an ongoing index to the literature on the history of interpretation.
Lutherjahrbuch. Lutherbibliographie
Annually in the Lutherjahrbuch. At this point only the structure of the annual bibliography is available online.
PASCAL and FRANCIS
"offers free access to more than 14 million bibliographic [records] of articles, conference papers and conference proceedings produced by the Inist-CNRS from 1984 to 2015 for PASCAL (12 millions) and from 1972 to 2015 for FRANCIS (2 millions). It will become progressively enriched with other document types and with records of partners having cooperated [with] PASCAL and FRANCIS supply in the past."
Religious and Theological Abstracts
SPU has this on paper through 2011. See the Index shelves.
Revue d'Histoire Écclesiastique: Bibliographie
UW Suzzallo and Allen Stacks BX 940 .R5 (and Auxiliary Stacks).
(Annual) Bibliography of British and Irish History
A University of Washington subscription. See also the database page here.
Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
A University of Washington database.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
A University of Washington database.
Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900.
University of Washington Suzzallo & Allen Reference Z2005. H6. The Wellesley Index to Victorians Periodicals, 1824-1900 is also an online database, though not at the University of Washington.

More SPU and Open-Access

SPU databases will link to SPU full-text quite automatically. Open-access databases will not. So use the latter (Google Scholar only excepted) in conjunction with Finding the Full Text.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Its coverage ranges back as far as 1887 for some titles.
Bibliography of the History of Art
This is a scholarly resource on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.(SPU Only)
Google Scholar
This search engine searches for scholarly research across many disciplines and sources. By starting your Google search from the SPU pages, the results will link to SPU-owned full-text.
JSTOR
offers digitized versions of core scholarly journals in many disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Biography is a core index to literary criticism and the humanities, with emphasis on literature, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Its coverage extends from 1926 to the present.

PASCAL and FRANCIS
"offers free access to more than 14 million bibliographic [records] of articles, conference papers and conference proceedings produced by the Inist-CNRS from 1984 to 2015 for PASCAL (12 millions) and from 1972 to 2015 for FRANCIS (2 millions). It will become progressively enriched with other document types and with records of partners having cooperated [with] PASCAL and FRANCIS supply in the past."

PhilPapers
is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Through web trawling techniques and large-scale crowd-sourcing, it monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
provides a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles in the Jewish National and University Library. Coverage extends from 1966 to the present.

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

More UW, SU, SPL, KCLS, and beyond

Seattle Public Library and King County Library System databases are accessible to anyone with SPL and KCLS accounts. University of Washington databases you must be in a UW library to use.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
A University of Washington database.
Art Full-Text and Art Index Retrospective
Login via your Seattle Public Library account.
Bibliographia internationalis spiritualitatis
Bibliographie annuelle du Moyen Âge tardif
Bibliographie de la Philosophie
Books only since 1954.
Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance
University of Washington Suzzallo/Allen Stacks Z6207 .R4B5.
International Philosophical Bibliography
A University of Washington database entitled, alternatively, Répertoire bibliographique de la philosophie, and Bibliografisch repertorium van de wijsbegeerte.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Music Index
Login via your Seattle Public Library account.
Philosopher's Index
Philosopher's Index indexes journals and essay collections in philosophy and related fields, with some full text available online. Its coverage extends from 1940 to the present. It is available for consultation at the University of Washington.