Subject Guides: GRK 1102/6102 THEO 6102 Koine Greek II. History of Exegesis/Interpretation Assignment (Ewald): Find (Commentary in) Articles, Patristic & Medieval

Introduction

I have not included here all of the serial bibliographies available only in print. For one (now thoroughly outdated) list of them, see Michael J. Walsh, Religious bibliographies in serial literature: a guide (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983), BL48 .W34 1981.

SPU and Open-Access

Atla Religion Database & AtlaSerials
This database, produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journals and essay collections in religion, with links to full text. Its coverage extends from 1949 to the present, with some retrospective indexing underway.

To identify articles, use a database (more accurately a periodical index or serial bibliography).

SPU databases will link to SPU full-text quite automatically. Open-access databases will not. So use the latter (Google Scholar only excepted) in conjunction with Finding the Full Text.

Index Theologicus (lxTheo)
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus Festschriften and congress publications. Its coverage extends from 1970 to the present.
Augustinus Literatur Portal
This open access version of the bibliographical component of the Zentrum für Augustinus-Forschung (ZAF)’s Corpus Augustinianum Gissense-Online (CAG-Online) is an important index of Augustine studies that uses the entries of the Augustinus-Lexikon as its official subject headings. Down during a period of transition, it should reappear soon in a new form under the aegis of the Tübingen serial bibliography (i.e. database) Index Theologicus (IxTheo).
Bibliographia Thomistica
This new search engine shares some content with the printed yearbook Thomistica: A New Yearbook of Thomistic Bibliography (which replaces Rassegna di Letteratura Tomistica). While all users have access to the most common types of searches, collaborators and subscribers may log in as advanced users, with access to additional types of searches.
Base d'Information Bibliographique en Patristique (BIBP)
Although patristic literature remains its major preoccupation, the BIBP touches on all disciplines studying patristic Christianity. This database is most effectively searched in French.

Base d'Information Bibliographique en Patristique (BIBP) Indices
Index des descripteurs thématiques
Index des oeuvres patristiques
Index des manuscrits patristiques
- Tome I Par auteurs
- Tome II Par lieux de conservation
- Tome III Par dates
- Tome IV Par origines
- Tome V Par contenus
Index des documents archéologiques
- Tome I Par sujets et natures
- Tome II Par provenances et lieux de conservation
- Tome III Par dates et contenus
Index des documents épigraphiques étudiés
Index des papyri étudiés
Index du vocabulaire patristique étudié
- Tome I Index des termes
- Tome II Index des auteurs
Index des textes bibliques; du vocabulaire biblique
Index des éditeurs de textes patristiques
- Tome I Par textes patristiques
- Tome II Par éditeurs
Abbreviations: 25326 [number of document] 1A87 [1, physical form; A, intellectual form; 87, number of periodical/collection] 1972 [date] HPRZ [disciplines]

Comprehensive Bibliography on Syriac Christianity
The Center for the Study of Christianity has compiled centuries of academic research on Syriac Christianity into a bibliography accessible to scholars in Syriac studies, early and medieval Christianity, rabbinic Judaism, Islam, comparative religion and Semitic linguistics. Truncate as follows: Ephr (returns Ephräm, Ephraem, Ephrem, etc.), Jon (returns Jona, Jonah, Jonas, and Jonás, but not, of course, Giona), Nin (returns Nineveh, Ninive, etc.).

Medioevo latino: bollettino bibliographico della cultura europea da Boezio a Erasmo (secoli VI-XV)
REF D111 .M35. An electronic version of this abrreiated MEL is a component of the SIMEL database MEDIOLATINO, itself a component of MIRABILE (below).

Religion & Philosophy Collection
offers 300-plus full-text journals, covering world religions, denominations, biblical studies, history of philosophy & religion, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, and moral philosophy.

UW, SU, SPL, and KCLS

Rouse, Claxton, & Metzger. Serial bibliographies for medieval studies. Publications of the Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies 3. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1969.

Seattle Public Library and King County Library System databases are accessible to anyone with SPL and KCLS accounts. University of Washington databases you must be in a UW library to use.

Bibliographica patristica: Internationale patristische Bibliographie
University of Washington Suzzallo Allen Libraries Z7791 .B5.
Elenchus of Biblica
Defunct with the publication of vol. 27, 2011 in 2015. SPU has 1973-1990 on the Index wall just south of the Reference Desk. For the rest (through 2011), see Lemieux Library Periodicals, Seattle University. Section XX on the history of the biblical sciences (Historia Scientiae Biblicae) is an ongoing index to the literature on the history of interpretation.
International Medieval Bibliography
A University of Washington database.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
A University of Washington database.
Religious and Theological Abstracts
SPU has this on paper through 2011. See the Index shelves.
Revue d'Histoire Écclesiastique. Bibliographie
Annually in the Revue d'histoire écclesiastique. University of Washington Suzzallo-Allen Stacks BX 940 .R5 (and Auxiliary Stacks). See now the Index Religiosus published by BREPOLiS.
(Annual) Bibliography of British and Irish History
A University of Washington subscription. See also the database page here.
Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
A University of Washington database.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
A University of Washington database.

More SPU and Open-Access

SPU databases will link to SPU full-text quite automatically. Open-access databases will not. So use the latter (Google Scholar only excepted) in conjunction with Finding the Full Text.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Its coverage ranges back as far as 1887 for some titles.
Bibliography of the History of Art
This is a scholarly resource on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.(SPU Only)
Google Scholar
This search engine searches for scholarly research across many disciplines and sources. By starting your Google search from the SPU pages, the results will link to SPU-owned full-text.
JSTOR
offers digitized versions of core scholarly journals in many disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Biography is a core index to literary criticism and the humanities, with emphasis on literature, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Its coverage extends from 1926 to the present.

PASCAL and FRANCIS
"offers free access to more than 14 million bibliographic [records] of articles, conference papers and conference proceedings produced by the Inist-CNRS from 1984 to 2015 for PASCAL (12 millions) and from 1972 to 2015 for FRANCIS (2 millions). It will become progressively enriched with other document types and with records of partners having cooperated [with] PASCAL and FRANCIS supply in the past."

PhilPapers
is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Through web trawling techniques and large-scale crowd-sourcing, it monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
provides a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles in the Jewish National and University Library. Coverage extends from 1966 to the present.
TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)
provides tables of contents to a selection of journals in classics, Near Eastern studies, and religion, and offers some links to abstracts and full text. Its coverage extends from 1992 to the present.

More UW, SU, SPL, KCLS, and beyond

Seattle Public Library and King County Library System databases are accessible to anyone with SPL and KCLS accounts. University of Washington databases you must be in a UW library to use.

MIRABILE (SIMEL)
One of the many components of the SIMEL database MIRABILE is MEDIOLATINO, itself inclusive of the SIMEL database MEL, the electronic equivalent of the major serial bibliography Medioevo Latino (above, available in the SPU library on paper at REF D111 .M35). But less than 10% of the hits in MEL can be viewed for free. Pricing here.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Ephemerides theologicae Lovaniensis. Elenchus bibliographicus
See now the Index Religiosus published by BREPOLiS.
Index Religiosus
Incorporates the Elenchus Bibliographicus of Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses and the Bibliographie of the Revue d'histoire écclesiastique.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
A University of Washington database.
Art Full-Text and Art Index Retrospective
Login via your Seattle Public Library account.
Bibliographie annuelle du Moyen Âge tardif
Bibliographie de la Philosophie
Books only since 1954.
Bibliographia internationalis spiritualitatis
International Philosophical Bibliography
A University of Washington database entitled, alternatively, Répertoire bibliographique de la philosophie, and Bibliografisch repertorium van de wijsbegeerte.
Music Index
Login via your Seattle Public Library account.
Philosopher's Index
Philosopher's Index indexes journals and essay collections in philosophy and related fields, with some full text available online. Its coverage extends from 1940 to the present. It is available for consultation at the University of Washington.