Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Full Text: SPU and Beyond

Use this guide to find out how to get the full text of desired books and articles, beginning with the Overview.

Introduction

Full text in the form of 1) books, 2) essays or chapters in books, and 3) articles in periodicals (magazines, journals, etc.), among 4) other things, is available via the catalogs and databases of public as well as academic libraries.  Here, however, we focus for now on finding online public-library full text in that third category in particular.

Access to King County Library System Resources

The King County Library System's All-Access Card is available to all of those who reside in King County and most of those who reside in Seattle, as well as those in public library districts with reciprocal borrowing agreements with the KCLS, including the Seattle Public Library.  (And all who work or study at SPU are eligible for an SPL account.)  So despite some confusing language elsewhere (as for example under "Does Seattle have a reciprocal borrowing agreement with the King County Library System?"), we have been assured that the All Access Card does indeed include database access in addition to everything else.  For more on this, as well as the Online Library eCard, start here.

Find a Specific Journal

What you will need: A King County Library System card. 

1) Visit the KCLS home page and choose Databases from the Online Library drop-down menu:

Screenshot of the King County Library System homepage with the Online Library menu open and Databases selected.

2) Once on the Databases page, look to the right and click on Search for electronic journals by title or ISSN, under Find full-text journals.

Screenshot of the King County Library System Browse Databases page with Search for Electronic journals by title or ISSN (under Find full-text journals) highlighted.

3) Select Journals and then Search by Title or ISSN.  Or Browse by Title or Subject and then limit to Journals Only.

Screenshot of King County Library System's Online Journals page with no highlighting.‚Äč

Search King County Library System Databases

The databases offered by the King County Library System—not all of which are article databases (i.e. periodical indices)—are listed by Subject (and also from A-Z) under Online Resources on the KCLS's home page:

Screenshot of the King County Library System homepage with the contents of the Online Resources drop-down menu (and especially Databases, Subject, and A-Z list) highlighted.

Search the King County Library System Catalog

A link to the King County Library System "book" Catalog is located on the KCLS homepage in the drop-down menu following Search the, as well as beneath the KCLS logo.  And on the main page, too, is a link to its Advanced Search sector:

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library homepage with links to the Catalog and its Advanced Search sector highlighted.