Skip to main content

Finding Full Text: SPU and Beyond (Spring 2020 version)

Searching Seattle Public Library Databases

What you will need: A Seattle Public Library Card. All SPU students are eligible for SPL cards. Click here for directions on getting a library card.

1) Visit the the Seattle Public Library's website @ http://www.spl.org/.

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library main page with no highlights or changes.

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library's main page without highlights or changes.

 

2) Select Articles & Research on the Library's home page, under Browse

Screenshot of the top portion of the Seattle Public Library's main page with the link to Articles and Research highlighted.

Screenshot of the top portion of the Seattle Public Library's main page with the link to Articles and Research highlighted.

 

 

3) Select the category that most pertains to your topic.

 

Screenshot of Seattle Public Library website's list of reference resources and research topic categories with "business, finance & fundraising" highlighted.

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library's list of reference resources and research topic categories with "Business, Finance & Fundraising" highlighted.

 

4) Select the database that best suits your needs. You can learn what content each database covers by reading the description beneath the databases name.

Screenshot of part of Seattle Public Library's list of Finance and Investing databases, with Morningstar Investment Research Center highlighted.

Screenshot of part of Seattle Public Library's list of Finance and Investing databases, with Morningstar Investment Research Center highlighted.​

 

5) When you get to the SPL authentication page, enter your library barcode (the number on the back of your library card) or username AND your Personal Identification Number (PIN). 

Screenshot of Seattle Public Library login page with no example text.

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library's login page with no example text.

 

 

6) After entering your SPL barcode/username and PIN, you will have full access to the database you have selected.

 

Did you forget your PIN? Use this link to retrieve it.

Find a specific journal

If you are looking for a specific journal title through the Seattle Public Library, follow these steps:

1) Visit the the Seattle Public Library's website: http://www.spl.org/.

 

2) Select Articles & Research on the Library's home page, under Browse

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library homepage with the Articles and Research link highlighted.

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library homepage with the Articles and Research link highlighted.

 

3) Select Online Journals A-Z in the left navigation bar under Articles and Research:

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library's homepage navigation bar with "Online Journals A-Z" highlighted.

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library's homepage navigation bar with "Online Journals A-Z" highlighted.​

 

 

4) Enter the Journal/Magazine title in the search bar. Click 'search.'

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library's Online Journals A-Z with text "Seattle Times" in the search bar.

Screenshot of the Seattle Public Library's Online Journals A-Z with text "Seattle Times" in the search bar. 

 

5) Choose the publisher's link that includes the date you need. Then enter your Seattle Public Library username/barcode and PIN.

Screenshot of Seattle Public Library's Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings search bar and results list for text "Seattle Times." Results list includes title and dates covered, for example, "from 01/01/1985 to present."

Screenshot of Seattle Public Library's Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings search bar and results list for text "Seattle Times." Results list includes title and dates covered, for example, "from 01/01/1985 to present."