Skip to main content

Finding Full Text: SPU and Beyond (Spring 2020 version)

Searching Several SPU Databases at Once

The first way would be to search all EBSCOhost databases at once. Proquest defaults to searching all databases at once, so there's no need to change anything when searching there.

To do this with the larger group of all EBSCOhost databases, go to the SPU Library's home page, select Article and Research Databases,

Screenshot of the SPU Library homepage with Article and Research databases link highlighted.

Screenshot of the SPU Library homepage with Article and Research databases link highlighted.

 

and then the multidisciplinary SPU database Academic Search Complete (published by EBSCOhost):

 

Screenshot of A-Z databases list with Academic Search Complete database link highlighted

Screenshot of the SPU A-Z Databases list with the link for Academic Search Complete highlighted.

 

Once in Academic Search Complete, click the link that says Choose Databases near the top of the screen:

 

Screenshot of Academic Search Complete main page with Choose databases link highlighted.

Screenshot of the main page of the Academic Search Complete database, with the "Choose Databases" link highlighted.

 

Click the Select all box, and press ok:

 

Screenshot of the Academic Search Complete Choose Databases menu with "Select All" box checked.

Screenshot of the Academic Search Complete "Choose Databases" menu with the Select all box checked highlighted.

 

and input your Search terms:

 

Screenshot of Academic Search Complete search screen with example text in search boxes highlighted and results list with full text link highlighted.

Screenshot of Academic Search Complete search screen with example text in search boxes highlighted and results list with first PDF Full Text link highlighted.

Searching the "SPU" Database Google Scholar

To search the "SPU" database Google Scholar, that is, Google Scholar as linked to full text owned by SPU, click on the link to Google Scholar at G on the Library's Article and Research Databases page:

Screenshot of Google Scholar link highlighted on SPU's A-Z Databases page.

Screenshot of the "G" page on SPU's A-Z Databases list with a link to Google Scholar highlighted.

Accessing Google Scholar from the Library's Article and Research Databases page gives you a second one-stop-shopping search of the bulk of SPU-mediated full text in electronic form.  Look for the link Full-Text@SPU Library:

Screenshot of Google Scholar results list with Full-Text @ SPU Library link highlighted.

Screenshot of Google Scholar results list with Full-Text @ SPU Library link highlighted.