Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

> THEO 3110 Torah/Pentateuch

Distinguish between "essays" in books and "articles" in journals

Distinguish between

  • the full text of an "essay" in (or consisting of) a book, and
  • the full-text of an "article" in a journal or "periodical".

"Essay" in a book:  Despite the presence of the icon labelled "Periodical", the following is the record of an "Essay" in a book:

search results

To find full text in (or consisting of) a book, you must secure the book.  And to secure the book, you must look it up in (and if necessary request it via) the Library's discovery system:

SPU Library Search Box

"Article" in a journal or "periodical":  The full text of "articles" in journals or "periodicals", on the other hand, can be secured as outlined below:

Find the full text of an "article" cited in an SPU database

To find full text of an "article" cited in an SPU database, click through the options highlighted in red below (EBSCO example).  Keep in mind, though that the SPU databases do not alert you to the presence of full text at the University of Washington or Seattle University (red carat):

search results

Find the full text of an "article" not cited in an SPU database, but rather elsewhere

To find the full text of an "article" not cited in an SPU database, but rather elsewhere (in the pericope-specific bibliography located in a commentary, for example), follow the steps outlined at Finding the Full Text.