The Journal for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics uses the American Medical Association (AMA) style of referencing.
Important details of AMA style:
Make sure you know what type of source you are using. If you found an article online, cite it as an article NOT as a website.
***Important note about authors***
Full-Text Article from an Electronic Database such as CINAHL
It is preferable in AMA style to put a DOI (digital object identifier) at the end of a reference for an article from a database instead of a database URL. Look in the information about the article or in the PDF for the DOI. If you cannot find it, please ask me.
If you are using an article from a database that has no DOI, find the article on the journal publisher website and use as short a URL as possible to get your reader to that article. The reader can then find the full text however, they have access to it.
In other words, do not put links like this is your reference list:
instead, find the article on the journal's website and include and accessed date.
https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-020-58875-x Accessed 7 May 2017.
**Do not put a period after the DOI or URL**
Elements of this citation:
Author last name, author initials. Article title (only first word capitalized except for proper nouns). Journal title (abbreviated & italicized). year; volume (issue): page numbers. doi:
Ho-Pham LT, Vu BQ, Lai TQ, et al. Vegetarianism, bone loss, fracture and vitamin D: a longitudinal study in Asian vegans and non-vegans. Eur J Clin Nutr. 2012;66(1):75-82. doi:10.1038/ejcn.2011.131
Article From an Electronic Journal (from publisher’s web site): Include the shortest URL possible if there is no DOI plus an access date:
Duchin JS. Can preparedness for biological terrorism save us from pertussis? Arch Pediatr Adolesc Med. 2004;158(2):106-107. http://archpedi.ama-assn.org/cgi/content/full/158/2/106. Accessed June 1, 2004.
No access date needed if there is a DOI:
Kitajima TS, Kawashima SA, Watanabe Y. The conserved kinetochore protein shugoshin protects centromeric cohesion during meiosis. Nature. 2004;427(6974):510-517. doi:10.1038/nature02312.
Chapter in an ebook:
Evans EW, Lo C. Adolescents: nutrition of adolescents. In Caballero B, ed. Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. 3rd ed. Elsevier; 2013:3-8. Accessed June 1, 2019. doi:10.1016/B978-0-12-375083-9.00002-7
From the AMA Manual of Style, 11th edition, page 98:
In citing data from a website, include the following elements, if available, in the order shown:
Clifford J, Kozil A. Vegetartion diets. Colorado State University Extension. September 2017. Updated July 20, 2019. Accessed March 31, 2020. https://extension.colostate.edu/topic-areas/nutrition-food-safety-health/vegetarian-diets-9-324/
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews:
Hemilä H, Chalker E, Treacy B, Douglas B. Vitamin C for preventing and treating the common cold. Cochrane Database of Syst Rev. May 10, 2009;(4):CD000980.doi:0.1002/14651858.CD000980.pub3
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library:
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library. How effective is MNT provided by registered dietitians in the management of type 1 and type 2 diabetes? Accessed December 23,2011. http://www.adaevidencelibrary.com/evidence.cfm?evidence_summary_id=250466