Subject Guides: WRI 1100: Keuss, Diana: SPU & Open Access

SPU

In addition to the top-priority databases listed below, consider Google Scholar as accessed, for SPU full-text, via the Library, and databases covering art (and art history), history, for breaking topics the news, and so forth.

Atla Religion Database & AtlaSerials
This database, produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journals and essay collections in religion, with links to full text. Its coverage extends from 1949 to the present, with some retrospective indexing underway.

Religion & Philosophy Collection
offers 300-plus full-text journals, covering world religions, denominations, biblical studies, history of philosophy & religion, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, and moral philosophy.

PhilPapers
Phil Papers functions as the core Philosophy database here at SPU. It "is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, [it] monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. [It] also host[s] the largest open access archive in philosophy" (PhilPapers).
For help with the effective use of PhilPapers, go here.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Its coverage ranges back as far as 1887 for some titles.

Open Access (No Links to SPU Full Text)

Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
Indexes article- and essay-length theological criticism. Cf. the ATLA Religion Database, under SPU Databases, above.

Official Subject Headings for the Article Databases

Whereas Keywords will work anywhere, including in Title fields (and whereas official Subject headings will work as Keywords, too), only official Subject headings will work well in Subject fields. The official Subject headings for the article databases, though variously labelled (Thesaurus, Subjects, etc.), tend to be given here in EBSCOhost databases:

Search Tips

How to Search (SPU + Summit & Libraries Worldwide)