Subject Guides: PHI 3606 Continental Philosophy: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Continental Philosophy

Continuum Companion to Continental Philosophy by John Mullarkey & Beth Lord (Editors)
Call Number: Online at the link above
Publication Date: 2009
Pp. 279-323 constitute a dictionary of continental philosophy.
A Dictionary of Continental Philosophy by John Protevi (Editor)
Call Number: REF B41 .D46 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Also available online at the link above as the Edinburgh dictionary of philosophy.
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy by Simon Glendinning (Editor)
Call Number: Online at the link above and on paper at REF B803 .E35 1999b
Publication Date: 1999

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Continental Philosophers (As Currently Taught)

The Hegel Dictionary by Glenn Alexander Magee
Call Number: Online and at B2901 .M34 2010
Publication Date: 2011
The A to Z of Hegelian Philosophy by John W. Burbidge
Publication Date: 2010
Historical Dictionary of Hegelian Philosophy by John W. Burbidge
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2008
A Hegel Dictionary by Michael J. Inwood
Call Number: Online and at B2901 .I58 1992
Publication Date: 1992
The Heidegger Dictionary by Daniel O. Dahlstrom
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013
Kierkegaard's Concepts by Steven M. Emmanuel, Jon Stewart, & William McDonald (Editors)
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2013-
6 vols. to date.
The Nietzsche Dictionary by Douglas Burnham
Call Number: B3311 .B87 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Historical Dictionary of Nietzscheanism by Carol Diethe
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2013

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Continental Movements (In progress)

This box will be focused primarily on those movements emphasized in PHI 3606 (for example Existentialism and Phenomenology in the Spring of 2019), though dictionaries and encyclopedias on others may be added as encountered.

The A to Z of Existentialism by Stephen Michelman
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2010
Dictionary of Existentialism by Haim Gordon (Editor)
Call Number: REF B819 .D455 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Phenomenology by Lester Embree et al. (Editors)
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1996

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Philosophy (the Short List)

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents lists entries that are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Ed. Borchert. 10 vols. 2006.
Login via your Seattle Public Library account.
Login via your King County Library System account.
SPU holds the 1st (1967) edition at REF B41 .E5, and the 1996 Supplement to that at REF B41 .E5 Supp. 1996.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Ed. Craig. 10 vols. 1998.
University of Washington Suzzallo Allen Reference B51 .R68 1998.
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Ed. Audi. 1999.
REF B41 .C35 1999.
Oxford Companion to Philosophy. 2nd ed. Ed. Honderich. 1995.
Online. 1st 1995 edition at REF B51 .O94 1995.
Dictionary of Philosophy. Ed. Mautner. 1996.
REF B41 .M38 1996.
Dictionary of Philosophy. Ed. Flew. 1979.
REF B41 .D54.
Dictionary of Continental Philosophy. Ed. Protevi. 2006.
Online and at REF B41 .D46 2006.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Ed. Kelly. 4 vols. 1998.
REF BH56 .E53 1998.
Companion to Epistemology. 2nd ed. Ed. Dancy et al. 2010.
REF BD161.C637 2010, and the 1st 1992 edition Online at the link above.
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. 2nd ed. Ed. Chadwick. 4 vols. 2012.
Encyclopedia of Ethics. 2nd ed. Ed. Becker & Becker. 3 vols. 2001.
REF BJ63 .E45 2001.
Companion to Metaphysics. 2nd ed. Ed. Kim et al. 2009.
REF BD111 .C626 2009, and the 1st 1995 edition Online at the link above.
Companion to the Philosophy of Mind. Ed. Guttenplan. 1995.
REF BD418.3 .C62 1995.
Dictionary of Untranslatables: A Philosophical Lexicon. Ed. Cassin. 2014.
REF B51 .V6313 2014. A portion of the original French is online at the link above.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Ed. Horowitz. 6 vols. 2005
REF CB9 .N49 2005.
Login via your King County Library System account.
Encyclopedia of the Englightenment. Ed. Kors. 4 vols. 2003.
Online and at REF B802 .E53 2003.
Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Ed. Weiner. 5 vols. 1973-1974.
Online and at REF CB5 .D52.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science, and Technology in Islam. Ed. Kalin. 2 vols. 2014.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Philosophy (the Long List)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias of Philosophy