Subject Guides: THEO 3331 Women in Christianity: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Women in Christianity or Religion

Westminster handbook to women in American religious history. Ed. Lindley & Stebner. 2008.
A short-entry biographical dictionary located at BL 2525 .W44 2008.
Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America. Ed. Keller & Ruether. 3 vols. Indiana University Press, 2006.
REF BL458 .E52 2006.
Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia. Ed. Wilson & Margolis. Greenwood Press, 2004.
REF HQ1143 .W643 2004.
Lawler. Encyclopedia of women in the Middle Ages.. McFarland, 2001.
Summit.
Encyclopedia of women and world religion. Ed. Young. 2 vols. Macmillan, 1999.
REF BL458 .E53 1998.
Hammack. Dictionary of women in church history. Moody Press, 1984.
A short-entry biographical dictionary located at BR1713 .H33 1984.

Biographical Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Christianity (Selected)

Biographical dictionary of evangelicals. Ed. Larsen. Inter-Varsity Press, 2003.
REF BV3780 .B56 2003.
Dictionary of Christian biography. Ed. Walsh. Liturgical Press, 2001.
REF BR1700.3 .D53 2001.
Biographical dictionary of Christian missions. Ed. Anderson. Macmillan, 1998.
REF BV3700 .B56 1998.
Dictionary of Evangelical biography, 1730-1860. Ed. Lewis. 2 vols. Blackwell, 1995.
REF BR1640 .B53 1995.
Twentieth-century dictionary of Christian biography. Ed. Douglas. Baker Books, 1995.
REF BR1700.2 .T9 1995.
Australian dictionary of evangelical biography. Ed. Dickey. Evangelical History Association, 1994.
Unavailable here, unfortunately.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of the Saints (Selected)

Farmer. Oxford dictionary of saints. 5th ed. rev. 2011.
SPU has the 5th (2004) edition at REF BR1710 .F34 2003.
Book of saints: a comprehensive biographical dictionary. 8th ed., entirely rev. and reset. Ed. Watkins. Bloomsbury, 2015.
SPU has the 7th (2002) edition at REF BX4655.3 .B66 2002.
Butler's lives of the saints. New full ed. Ed. Farmer. 12 vols. + supplements. Liturgical Press, 1995.
REF BX4654 .B88 1995.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of the Christian Heritage (Church History) & Theology (Selected)

For a list of Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of the Christian Heritage (Church History), many of which will offer biographical entries, go here (Early & Medieval), here (Reformation & Early Modern), here (19th-21st Centuries), and here (North American).

For a list of Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Theology (Selected), a few of which will offer biographical entries, go here:

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias of Theology (Short)
An abbreviated list. For a longer one, go here.
Dictionaries of Theological Terms

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of the Theological Disciplines (Selected). For example,

Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of the Christian Heritage (Church History) by Region, Biographical or Otherwise

Dictionary of African Biography
Dictionary of Asian Christianity. Ed. Sunquist. Eerdmans, 2001.
REF BR1065 .D52 2001.
Dictionary of American religious biography. Ed. Bowden. 2nd ed., rev. & enlarged. 1993
REF BL72 .B68 1993.
Dictionary of Christianity in America. Ed. Reid. 1990.
REF BR515 .D53 1990.

Denominational Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Biographical or Otherwise

For a starter-list of Denominational Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Biographical or Otherwise, see

Works of Reference on the Christian Traditions
Works of reference only. Don't stop here, but rather, go on to Find Books and Articles!

Biographical Dictionaries & Encyclopedias in General (Selected)

Among the many great dictionaries of national biography are (for just the United States and the United Kingdom) the following (for those of the other nations, see Steve Perisho):

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Ed. Matthew & Harrison for the British Academy. 61 vols. + supplements. Oxford University Press, 2004- .
University of Washington Suzzallo & Allen Libraries First Floor Reference DA28 .O95 2004 & Online.
American National Biography. Ed. Garraty & Carnes for the American Council of Learned Societies. 24 vols. + supplements. Oxford University Press, 1999.
REF CT213 .A68 1999.
Dictionary of American Biography. Ed. the American Council of Learned Societies. 20 vols. + supplements. Scribner, 1928-1958.
REF E176 .D562.
Dictionary of National Biography, Ed. Stephen et al. 24 vols. + supplements. Oxford University Press, 1885-1939.
REF DA28 .D48.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Ethnic Groups or Regions, Biographical or Otherwise

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Women's Studies in General, Biographical or Otherwise

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Women's Studies in General, whether Biographical or Otherwise, will offer biographical information on Christian women, but (being too numerous) are not actually listed here.

THEO 3331 Women in Christianity

Subject Librarian

On This Page