BIO 3615 Issues and Values in Biology

Writing a Case Study Analysis

Similar to an argumentative essay, in a case study analysis you research and investigate an issue, examine the possible solutions, and propose the most effective solution using evidence to support your position. In addition to Dr. Tenlen's assignment and rubric, this Case Study Analysis (PDF) information from UNB Writing Centre might give some strategies for approaching this assignment.

Choosing a topic - getting a topic that is not too broad or too narrow, and allows you to take a position based on research

Resources that will help you select and refine your topic (and get a good foundation for your topic):

• Textbooks and Encyclopedias:
  • Cambridge Textbook of Bioethics (2008)
  • Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics (3 vol. Encyclopedia, 2016)
  • Bioethics (6 vol. Encyclopedia, 2014)
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (4 vol. Encyclopedia, 2012)
  • Encyclopedia of Bioethics (5 vol. Encyclopedia, 2004)
• Bioethics Centers' Websites and Bibliographies
  • Hastings Center Website and Journal
  • Georgetown University Bioethics Research Library Guide
  • Bioethics Today
• Current ethical issues sources:
  • CQ Researcher - in-depth reports on current topics, including bioethical issues
  • Medscape's Ethical Hot topics - responds to recent Medical ethics issues in the news (you will need to make a free account to see these articles)
  • Medline Plus - Bioethics Topics - see list of Bioethics topics covered by Medline Plus

Ideas for broadening and narrowing research topics:

• choosing and narrowing a topic to write about (tutorial)
• selecting a research topic: refining your topic

Working on the annotated bibliography assignment will require you to read your sources carefully, summarize them, evaluate them, and explain how they will fit into your assignment.

"Writing an Annotated Bibliography"  Video from Carleton University Library 2:44