ORG 6100/7100 Organizational Behavior

For this class, you will complete weekly outlines or three page thesis papers on class readings*.  

For these papers, you will need to locate and use:

• Handbook of Psychology: Industrial and Organizational Psychology (Vol. 12)
• Articles within library databases

Learn how to locate these resources in the library or the library's web site by using this guide. 

*Please review the assignment specifications on your course syllabus.

Many class readings will be available through the databases listed below.  

TIP: There are two main ways to search for access to a specific article (other than using the "check for full text" link within a database) - searching SPU Primo by journal title or Google Scholar by article title.  For other options to access the full-text, see Finding Full Text.

Search library resources by journal title:

1.  Search for the journal title (e.g. Journal of Applied Psychology) in from the library's home page.

2.  Locate the correct journal title from the search results and click Online Access. Verify the years available against the article's date of publication, and choose the database that encompasses that year.

3.   "Search within this publication" by title or author.

Search Google Scholar by article title:

This option can be faster, as long as all the links work correctly.  Make sure you are either searching from on-campus or using the link above so that it links to SPU databases.

1. Copy and paste the article title into the Google Scholar search box and click search.

2. If SPU has access, there will be a link on the right side.  There may be access to the article in other ways as well.

3. After clicking on Full-Text@SPU Library, select any one of the databases listed to access the full article.

By the end of using this subject guide, students should be able to:

• locate all class readings
• identify an additional peer-reviewed article on a class topic
• use the catalog to identify an additional book on a class topic
• create a properly formatted APA paper including cover page, abstract, in-text citations, and references

It can be extremely useful or necessary to listen to text-based readings rather than only to visually read them:

• Use your commuting, walking, or cleaning time to listen to your course texts!
• Listen while you visually read along with a text to try to increase comprehension and memory.
• Use as a writing strategy: listen to your own writing as a way to notice areas to improve.
• Use a a motivation strategy; if you don't feel motivated to do anything, at least listening to readings will allow you to make some progress and may re-engage you in your work.

SPU has a tool called SensusAccess, which can convert text-based files to audio (plus other ways to change file types).

1. Start at SPU’s SensusAccess Conversion Tool.
2. (Step 1 of process) Upload a PDF document (or text or URL) you’d like converted to a streaming audio file. (If you have a print book, scan to PDF the section you need. If you are starting with a text file in another format, go straight to Step 6.)
3. (Step 2) Select Accessibility conversion. This will send you a Word document, which will put header and footer info into correct places (it won't read you all those headers and footers) and which you can then edit otherwise as needed (don't need to listen to the 25 references at the end of the chapter? Delete them!).
4. (Step 4) Email the file to yourself at your SPU email address, which takes only a few minutes to process.
5. Re-start at SensusAccess Conversion Tool, and (Step 1) upload the Word document you’d been emailed. 
6. (Step 2) Select MP3 audio as the target format.
7. (Step 3) Select language of document and audio speed (choose default to start, then consider another speed later if necessary).
8. (Step 4) Email the streaming file to yourself. It may take longer to process, depending on the length of audio, but is usually ready with 5 min - 1 hour.

The streaming audio file will be a link in the email and is available for one week. If you need it longer, re-convert the Word file to mp3.

Happy listening!

audiobook by Clea Doltz is licensed CC BY 3.0.