Julian of Norwich's Revelations - > Early and Medieval Christianity/Global Christian Heritage I to 1500 (cf. THEO 3301/6020) - Subject Guides at Seattle Pacific University

Introduction

Most of the titles listed here have been placed on Reserve behind the Library's Front Desk. Those on Reserve can be checked out for two hours at a time and consulted within the Library building.

For further assistance with your research into this text and its context, see Steve Perisho (at bottom left).

Monographs (Selected)

Julian of Norwich: "in God's sight": Her Theology in Context by Philip Sheldrake
Call Number: BV4832.3.J863 S54 2019
Publication Date: 2018
The Secret Within: Hermits, Recluses, and Spiritual Outsiders in Medieval England by Wolfgang Riehle
Call Number: BV5077.E54 R5413 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Chap. 9 "provides a thorough introduction to Julian's theology in the broader context of Continental mysticism" (Denise Baker in Oxford Bibliographies).
Julian of Norwich by Grace Jantzen
Call Number: BV5095.J84 J36 2011
Publication Date: 2011
"a thorough introduction to Julian of Norwich's medieval context . . . for the general reader" (Denise Baker in Oxford Bibliographies).
Julian of Norwich: Mystic or Visionary? by Kevin Magill
Call Number: BV5095 .J84M34 2006
Publication Date: 2006
"Asserting that Julian of Norwich is a visionary rather than a mystic, . . . this study . . . also places her in the context of the anchoritic tradition and the wider Christian community she sought to educate" (Denise Baker in Oxford Bibliographies).
Julian of Norwich's Showings by Denise Nowakowski Baker
Call Number: BV4831.J83 B34 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Love Was His Meaning: the Theology and Mysticism of Julian of Norwich by Pelphrey, Brant
Call Number: BV4831 .J83P44x 1982
Publication Date: 1982

Essay Collections (Selected)

A Companion to Julian of Norwich by Liz Herbert McAvoy (Editor)
Call Number: BV5095.J84 C6 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Julian of Norwich: a Book of Essays by Sandra J. McEntire (Editor)
Call Number: BV5095.J84 J83 1998
Publication Date: 1998

Non-Serial Bibliographies

Baker, Denise. "Julian of Norwich." Medieval Studies. Oxford Bibliographies. 2018
An annotated bibliography with lots of references to (also) Julian's doctrinal and theological sources, sparring partners, and context. Available, along with several others in which Julian appears, in the University of Washington database Oxford Bibliographies.

Periodical Indices more specialized than those listed under Articles

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Biography is a core index to literary criticism and the humanities, with emphasis on literature, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Its coverage extends from 1926 to the present.

Year's Work in English Studies
No sections dedicated to Julian of Norwich alone, though lots of the scholarship on her does get listed under other headings (e.g. "Later medieval," "Women's writing," "Middle English," and "Religous prose" (Denise Baker in Oxford Bibliographies). Year's Work in English Studies is available at the University of Washington.