Skip to Main Content

PHI 3601 Ancient Philosophy

Cambridge Companions

The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Ethics by Christopher Bobonich (Editor)
Call Number: BJ161 .C36 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Greek Political Thought by Stephen Salkever & Stephen G. Salkever (Editors)
Call Number: JC73 .C364 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Logic by Luca Castagnoli & Paolo Fait (Editors)
Call Number: BC28 .C36 2023
Publication Date: 2023
The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Rhetoric by Erik Gunderson (Editor)
Call Number: PA181 .C36 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Scepticism by Richard Bett (Editor)
Call Number: On order
Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Companion to Aristotle by Jonathan Barnes (Editor)
Call Number: B485 .C35 1995
Publication Date: 1995
The Cambridge Companion to Aristotle's Nicomachean Ethics by Ronald Polansky (Editor)
Call Number: B430 .C36 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The Cambridge Companion to Aristotle's Politics by Marguerite Deslauriers & Pierre Destrée (Editors)
Call Number: JC71 .A7C37 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Cambridge Companion to Cicero by Catherine Steel (Editor)
Call Number: PA6320 .C29 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Cambridge Companion to Cicero's Philosophy by Jed W. Atkins & Thomas Bénatouïl (Editors)
Call Number: B553 .C36 2022
Publication Date: 2022
The Cambridge Companion to Early Greek Philosophy by A. A. Long (Editor)
Call Number: B188 .C35 1999
Publication Date: 1999
The Cambridge Companion to Epicureanism by James Warren (Editor)
Call Number: B512 .C35 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman Philosophy by David Sedley (Editor)
Call Number: B111 .C36 2003
Publication Date: 2003
The Cambridge Companion to Lucretius by Stuart Gillespie & Philip Hardie (Editors)
Call Number: PA6484 .C33 2007
Publication Date: 2007
The Cambridge Companion to Plato. 2nd ed. by David Ebrey & Richard Kraut (Editors)
Call Number: B395 .C28 2022
Publication Date: 2022
The Cambridge Companion to Plato by Richard Kraut (Editor)
Call Number: B395 .C28 1992
Publication Date: 1992
The Cambridge Companion to Plato's Republic by G. R. F. Ferrari (Editor)
Call Number: JC71 .P6C36 2007
Publication Date: 2007
The New Cambridge Companion to Plotinus by Lloyd Gerson & James Wilberding (Editors)
Call Number: B693 .Z7N49 2022
Publication Date: 2022
The Cambridge Companion to Plotinus by Lloyd P. Gerson (Editor)
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1996
The Cambridge Companion to Seneca by Shadi Bartsch & Alessandro Schiesaro (Editors)
Call Number: PA6675 .C36 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The Cambridge Companion to Socrates by Donald R. Morrison (Editor)
Call Number: B317 .C35 2011
Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Companion to the Sophists by Joshua Billings & Christopher Moore (Editors)
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2023
The Cambridge Companion to the Stoics by Brad Inwood (Editor)
Call Number: B528 .C26 2003
Publication Date: 2003

Oxford Handbooks

The Oxford Handbook of Aristotle by Christopher Shields (Editor)
Call Number: B485 .O94 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Oxford Handbook of Epicurus and Epicureanism by Phillip Mitsis (Editor)
Call Number: On order
Publication Date: 2020
The Oxford Handbook of Plato. 2nd ed. by Gail Fine (Editor)
Call Number: B395. O94 2023
Publication Date: 2019
"This second edition of the Oxford Handbook of Plato differs in two main ways from the first edition. First, six leading scholars of ancient philosophy have contributed entirely new chapters: Hugh Benson on the Apology, Crito, and Euthyphro; James Warren on the Protagoras and Gorgias; Lindsay Judson on the Meno; Luca Castagnoli on the Phaedo; Susan Sauvé Meyer on the Laws; and David Sedley on Plato's theology. This new edition therefore covers both dialogues and topics in more depth than the first edition did. Secondly, most of the original chapters have been revised and updated, some in small, others in large, ways."
The Oxford Handbook of Plato by Gail Fine (Editor)
Call Number: B395 .O94 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The Oxford Handbook of Presocratic Philosophy by Patricia Curd & Daniel W. Graham (Editors)
Call Number: B187.5 .O94 2011
Publication Date: 2008
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Philosophy by Myrto Garani, David Konstan, & Gretchen Reydams-Schils (Editors)
Publication Date: 2023

Others (Selected)

Blackwell Guide to Ancient Philosophy by Christopher Shields (Editor)
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2003
The Blackwell Guide to Aristotle's Nicomachean Ethics by Richard Kraut (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006
A Companion to Greek and Roman Political Thought by Ryan K. Balot (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
The Bloomsbury Handbook of Plato. 2nd ed. by Gerald A. Press & Mateo Duque (Editors)
Publication Date: 2022
The Blackwell Guide to Plato's Republic by Gerasimos Santas (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006
The Bloomsbury Handbook of Socrates. 2nd ed. by Russell E. Jones & Ravi Sharma (Editors); Nicholas D. Smith (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023