Skip to main content

> Early and Medieval Christianity/Global Christian Heritage I to 1500 (cf. THEO 3301/6020): Theologians

Introduction

This page is not limited to any period.

It is also a work in progress.  It will be filled in from offline files, filled out with the findings of further research, and updated on an as-needed or as-discovered basis only.  Once enough information on a given theologian has been assembled to justify a spin-off, this page may simply link out to the guide spun off.

Albert the Great

Critical editions

Works online

  • Editio Digitalis of the Editio Coloniensis, above.
  • Alberti Magni e-corpus.  Searchable "PDF versions of the Works of Albert in the Editio Parisienis ed. Auguste Borgnet and the Editio Lugdunensis ed. Petrus Jammy" rather than the Editio Coloniensis now in progress.  "The presence within the Alberti Magni e-corpus of works which the [Albertus-Magnus-]Institut has already published [in the Editio Coloniensis] results from the fact that some of them were digitized for this website before the Institut published them (e.g., Liber divisionum), or that an unexpected opportunity presented itself to obtain a given text at low cost (e.g., De generatione et corruptione)."

Centers, institutes, etc.

Ambrose

Serial bibliographies

Anthony of Padua

Works online

Athanasius

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Critical edition

Manuscripts online

Serial bibliographies

  • Athanasius-Bibliographie (Athanasius Werke Arbeitstelle Erlangen, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg), 1997- .

Augustine

Companions, Handbooks, Manuals, etc.

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

  • Augustine through the ages:  an encyclopedia.  Ed. Fitzgerald.  Eerdmans, 1999.  REF .  Cf. Saint Augustin, la Méditerranée et l'Europe IVe-XXIe siècle.  Ed. Fitzgerald, Vannier, & Lancel.  Cerf, 2005.  “A French version of the 1999 English-language publication Augustine through the ages, with added new material drawn from the Spanish version (2001) and the forthcoming Italian version” (WorldCat).
  • Augustinus-Lexikon.  Ed. Mayer, Feldmann, Dodaro, & Müller.  Schwabe AG, 1986- .  University of Washington Suzallo-Allen Libraries .  From the Zentrum für Augustinusforschung im Würzburg:

Translations

Indices

  • Corpus Augustinianum Gissense (CAG), a version of which is available also via Past Masters, and which is said to be superior to even the Library of Latin Texts for Augustine studies, includes an index to biblical quotations, by passage.  Here is a shot of that index as it appears in the Demo version.  How reliably these abbreviations would work in a straightforward full-text search in the version of CAG in Past Masters isn't entirely clear:

 

Serial bibliographies

Centers, institutes, etc.

Barth

Guides to research

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Works online

Non-serial bibliographies

Serial bibliographies

Libraries and archives

Centers, institutes, etc.

Associations, societies, etc.

Blondel

Critical editions

  • Œuvres complètes.  Ed. Troisfontaines.  Paris:  Presses universitaires de France, 1995- .

Non-serial bibliographies

  • Raffelt.  "Bibliographie" (1976-1994).  In Das Tun, der Glaube, die Vernuft:  Studien zur Philosophie Maurice Blondels 'l'Action' 1893-1993, ed. Raffelt, Reifenberg & Fuchs, pp. 207-238.  Wurzbourg:  Eebter, 1995.
  • Virgoulay & Troisfontaines.  Maurice Blondel:  Bibliographie analytique et critique.
    • Vol. 1:  Œuvres de Maurice Blondel (1880-1975).  Centre d'archives Maurice Blondel 2.  Louvain:  Peters, 1975.
    • Vol. 2:  Études sur Maurice Blondel (1893-1975).  Centre d'archives Maurice Blondel 3.  Louvain:  Peters, 1976.

Serial bibliographies

Boethius

Associations, societies, etc.

Bonaventure

Handbooks

  • Diestelbrink, Balduin.  Bonaventura scripta:  authentica, dubia vel spuria critice recensita.  Rome:  Istituto storico cappuccini, 1975.

Critical editions

 

  • Collationes in hexaëmeron et Bonaventuriana quaedam selecta. (Prooemium in I Sententiarum.  Responsio ad obiecta contra quamdam distinctionem in divinis.  Quaestio de existentia angelorum.  Quaestio de existentia animae in corpore.  Quaestio reportata de mendicitate cum annotationibus Gulielmi de S. Amore.  Praelocutio ad prooemium in II Sententiarum.  Fr. P.J. Olivi Quaestio de angelicis influentiis.) Ad fidem codd. MSS. edidit R.P. Ferdinandus Delorme.  Bibliotheca franciscana scholastica medii aevi 8.  Florence:  Ad Claras Aquas (Quarracchi), Ex typographia Collegii S. Bonaventurae, 1934.
  • Questions disputées: "De caritate", "De novissimis".  Ed. P. Glorieux.  Paris:  Aux Editions Franciscaines, 1950.

 

  • etc.

Translations

  • Works St. Bonaventure, NY:  Franciscan Institute Publications, 1979- .  SPU owns most of the volumes in this series.

 

Serial bibliographies

  • Bibliographia Franciscana.  Annual supplement to Collectanea Franciscana.  Rome:  Istituto storico dei frati minori cappuccini, 1929- .  See IV.A.5, "S. Bonaventura de Bagnoregio".

 

  • Bibliographia Internationalis Spiritualitatis.
  • International Medieval Bibliography.
  • Medioevo Latino.

Websites

Bonhoeffer

Portals

Quotations

Serial bibliographies

Bultmann

Guides to research

Calvin

Handbooks

Works online

Translations

Concordances

  • Wevers. A concordance to Calvin's Institutio 1559: based on the critical text of Petrus Barth and Guilelmus Niesel. 6 vols. Grand Rapids, MI: Digamma, 1992.

  • Battles & Miller. A computerized concordance to Institvtio Christianiae Religionis 1559 of Ioannes Calvinvs: based on the critical text of Petrus Barth & Guilelmus Niesel (books 1-2: 1967 ; Book 3: 1959 ; Book 4: 1962). 1st Ed. ed. Bibliographia Tripotamopolitana 8. Pittsburgh: Clifford E. Barbour Library, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary, 1972.

Serial bibliographies

Capito

Critical editions

  • Correspondence of Wolfgang Captio.  Ed. Rummel & Kooistra.  4 vols. projected.  University of Toronto Press, 2005- .  (Cf. Correspondance de Wolfgang Capiton, 1478-1541:  analyse et index.  Publications de la Bibliothèque Nationale et Universitaire de Strasbourg 8.  Strasbourg, 1982.)

Works online

Chrysostom

Serial bibliographies

  • Chrysostom Bibliography (Centre for Early Christian Studies, Faculty of Theology and Philosophy, Australian Catholic University).

Dante

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Donne

Works online

  • John Donne Sermons.  "The text of this electronic archive is based on the ten-volume Sermons of John Donne, edited by George Potter and Evelyn Simpson and published by University of California Press between 1953-1962."  Cf. the new Oxford edition of the sermons of John Donne (2013- ), which reproduces the texts "as close as possible to their form at the time of preaching" and "prefer[s] original spelling" (Russ McDonald, Times literary supplement no. 5880 (December 11, 2015):  5).

Edwards

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Works online

Indices

Non-serial bibliographies

Erasmus

Bibliographies of printed editions

Critical editions

  • Opera omnia Desiderii Erasmi Roterodami.  Amsterdam; Leiden: Brill, 1969- .  Many of these are online in the SPU Library's discovery system.

Translations

  • Collected works of Erasmus.  Toronto:  University of Toronto Press, 1974- .  SPU owns most (but not all) of this set (which is still in progress).

 

Evagrius Ponticus

Portals

Handbooks

  • Writings (Guide to Evagrius Ponticus, Joel Kalvesmaki).  Basically a reproduction of CPG 2.

Serial bibliographies

  • Bibliography (Guide to Evagrius Ponticus, Joel Kalvesmaki).

Francis of Assisi

Serial bibliographies

  • Bibliographia Franciscana Annual supplement to Collectanea Franciscana.  Rome:  Istituto storico dei frati minori cappuccini, 1929- .

Gregory of Narek (Grigor, Narekatsʻi, Saint, 951-1003)

Gregory of Nazianzus

Portals

  • Nazianzos (Centre d'Études sur Grégoire de Nazianze, Université catholique de Louvain).  No longer kept systematically up-to-date.

Gregory of Nyssa

Portals

  • Gregory of Nyssa Homepage.  This (by Br. Casimir MacCambley and David Solomon) seems to have disappeared, but I'm not quite ready to give up on it yet.

Critical editions

  • Gregorii Nysseni opera.  Summit.  Cf. Gregory of Nyssa Online, a Brill database that "gives access to both Gregorii Nysseni Opera Online and Lexicon Gregorianum Online", but is unavailable here.

Works online

  • Gregory of Nyssa Online.  A Brill database that "gives access to both Gregorii Nysseni opera Online and Lexicon Gregorianum Online."  Unavailable here.

Lexica

  • Lexicon Gregorianum:  Wörterbuch zu den Schriften Gregors von Nyssa.  7 vols.  University of Washington Suzzallo & Allen First Floor Reference BR65.G76 M36 1999.  Cf. Gregory of Nyssa Online, a Brill database that "gives access to both Gregorii Nysseni Opera Online and Lexicon Gregorianum Online", but is unavailable here.

Grosseteste

Works online

Grotius

Non-serial bibliographies

  • Ter Meulen & Diermans.
    • Bibliographie des écrits imprimés de Hugo Grotius.  1950.  Summit.
    • Bibliographie des écrits sur Hugo Grotius.  1961.  Summit.

Serial bibliographies

  • "Bibliography."  A continuation of the non-serial bibliographies listed above, and published annually in the journal Grotiana.  According to editor Hans Blom, an electronic edition is in the works (note to me dated 27 July 2013).

Jesuits (Jesus, Society of)

Companions

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Kierkegaard

Works online

Libraries & archives

Kuyper

Serial bibliographies

Centers, institutes, etc.

Lessing

Portals

Llull

Serial bibliography

Journals

Luther

Guides to research

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Works online

Indices

Mather, Cotton, Increase, John, & Richard

Melanchthon

Guides to research

  • Handbuch Philipp Melanchthon.  Ed. Frank.  Walter de Gruyter, 2017.

Indices

Critical editions

Guides to research

Major (incl. critical) editions

Indices

Merton

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Quotations

Serial Bibliographies

Non-Serial Bibliographies

Libraries & Archives

Centers, Institutes, etc.

Associations, Societies, etc.

Newman

Works online

Origen

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

  • McGuckin.  Westminster handbook to Origen.  Westminster John Knox Press, 2004.
  • Origene dizionario:  la cultura, il pensiero, le opera.  Ed. Castagno.  Città nuova, 2000.

Ratzinger. See Benedict XVI

Schleiermacher

Critical editions

  • Kritische Gesamtausgabe. Ed. Birkner.  Berlin:  Walter de Gruyter, 1980- .  Summit (subsections in Summit, too).

Teresa of Avila

Non-serial bibliographies

Serial bibliographies

  • Archivum Bibliographicum Carmeli Teresiani (ABCT), 1981/83- .  Continues Archivum Bibliographicum Carmelitanum (ABC), 1956-1986, a supplement to Ephemerides Carmeliticae.
  • "Bibliographia Carmelitana annualis."  Annually in Carmelus, 1954- .
  • Bibliographia internationalis spiritualitatis (Pontificio Istituto di Spiritualità "Teresianum"), 1966- .

Tertullian

Portals

Thomas Aquinas

Guides to research

Handbooks

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Critical editions

Works online

Translations

Concordances

Lexica

Indices

Serial bibliographies

Centers, institutes, etc.

Tyndale

Major editions

Works online

Wesley, Charles

Bibliographies of Early Editions

Major Editions

Works online

Manuscripts online


Indices


Journals

Centers, Institutes, etc.

Associations, Societies, etc.

Wesley, John

Companions

Bibliographies of Early Editions

Major Editions

Works online


Manuscripts online


Indices


Serial bibliographies


Centers, Institutes, etc.

Whitefield

Zwingli

Works online

Serial bibliographies

Journals

Template for Each of the Figures Above

Portals

Guides to Research

Companions, Handbooks, Manuals, etc.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Bibliographies of Early Editions

Major Editions (incl. Critical Editions)

Works Online

Manuscripts Online

Translations

Concordances

Lexica

Indices

Quotations

Commentary

Serial Bibliographies

Non-Serial Bibliographies

Journals

Libraries & Archives

Centers, Institutes, etc.

Associations, Societies, etc.

Websites