Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - > Wesleyan, Methodist, and Wesleyan Holiness Studies - Subject Guides at Seattle Pacific University

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Wesleyan, Methodist, and Wesleyan Holiness Studies

British Methodist Buildings
Index of Methodist Ministers (Methodist Collections, University of Manchester Library)
Global Wesleyan Dictionary of Theology. Ed. Truesdale. Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2013.
REF BV2.5 .G56 2013.
Kostlevy. Historical dictionary of the Holiness Movement. 2nd ed. Scarecrow, 2009.
Historical Dictionary of Methodism. 2nd ed. Ed. Yrigoyen & Warrick. Scarecrow, 2005.
REF BX8211 .H57 2005.
A Dictionary of Methodism in Britain and Ireland. Ed. Vickers. Epworth Press, 2000.
REF BX8211 .D52 2000. The online version is more up-to-date than the one in print.
Methodist Archives Biographical Index (Methodist Collections, University of Manchester Library)
This was printed in 2 vols. as the Methodist Archives Biographical List, and is located in print at REF BX8491 .M48 2004.
Rogal. A Biographical Dictionary of 18th-century Methodism. Mellen, 1999.
Kirby, Richey, & Rowe. The Methodists. Denominations in America 8. Greenwood Press, 1996.
REF BX8382.2 .A4K57 1996.
Beacon Dictionary of Theology. Ed. Taylor. Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 1983.
REF BR95 .B33 1983.
Encyclopedia of World Methodism. Ed. Harmon. 2 vols. United Methodist Publishing House, 1974.
REF BX8211 .E5.
Vol. 1 online.
Vol. 2 online.
Centennial Encyclopaedia of the African Methodist Episcopal Church. Ed. Wright, Jr. Philadelphia: [Book Concern of the A.M.E. Church], 1916.
Cornish. Cyclopædia of Methodism in Canada. Methodist Book and Publishing House, 1881.
Emmanuel Room BX8251.C6 2001.
Cyclopædia of Methodism. Ed. Simpson. Everts & Stewart, 1878.
REF BX8211 .S5 1878.
5th rev. ed. (1882) online.

Dictionaries of National Biography

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Ed. Matthew & Harrison for the British Academy. 61 vols. + supplements. Oxford University Press, 2004- .
University of Washington Suzzallo & Allen Libraries First Floor Reference DA28 .O95 2004 & Online.
American National Biography. Ed. Garraty & Carnes for the American Council of Learned Societies. 24 vols. + supplements. Oxford University Press, 1999.
REF CT213 .A68 1999.
Dictionary of American Biography. Ed. the American Council of Learned Societies. 20 vols. + supplements. Scribner, 1928-1958.
REF E176 .D562.
Dictionary of National Biography, Ed. Stephen et al. 24 vols. + supplements. Oxford University Press, 1885-1939.
REF DA28 .D48.

For more, see Theology Librarian Steve Perisho.