PHY 3011: Global Climate Change: Scientific, Social and Moral Implications

The SPU Library provides access to millions of full text articles from magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and academic journals. To access these you can search in the library's article databases.

Choose a specific database using the drop down menus to find the ones in your subject area.

Or search multiple databases at the same time:

Start with Academic Search Complete.

When you have this open, click on "Academic Search Complete" above the search boxes.

You will then get a screen that lists all our EBSCO databases.

You can add specific ones or select them all.

Searching Tips:

1. Keep your search simple. Put one word or phrase in each search box

2. Sort your results by relevance

3. Look for "subjects" or "descriptors" to gather more keywords.

4. Try multiple searches using different combinations of keywords

Click on the "Access options" button for the ways to get the full text such as,

•  PDF
• Online full text
• Linked full text
• "Check for full text"
• Request from Inter Library Loan

Please ask me or another librarian if you need help finding the full text.

Have any of these ever happened to you?

• A professor suggests that you look for articles in a specific journal.
• You find an article on the Internet but the full text is not free.
• You find an article in the reference list of another article.

In these cases, look up the title of the journal in the SPU Library Catalog to find out what our full text access is.

For example, Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior

If we have access to the journal, you will see it in the catalog results indicated by the label "Journal." Click on the title to see what access we have. Choose the database that has the years you need. In the example below, if you wanted the most recent years, you would choose the Elsevier Science Direct link since we have access from 2002 to the present.

 Look for a place to choose the year and then the issue or a place to search for a topic within that journal.

For some journals, we have online access to many years except the most recent. The most recent year might be found in hard copy at the Library. Look up the journal title in the SPU Library Catalog. If we have the journal in hard copy, it will say "Available at Seattle Pacific University periodicals."

Please ask me or another librarian if you need help finding articles.

Choose Google Scholar from the SPU Articles & Databases page to be connected to full text when available through the SPU Library system.