Subject Guides: SOC 2351 Living on the Margins: Cities in the Global South: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias in English (Only)

Introduction

Unfortunately, none of the dictionaries and encyclopedias listed below focus on the urban sociology of the Global South in particular. And only a few of the (also few) dictionaries and encyclopedias specific to the cities named by Dr. Mondesir are available in English translation (the 544-page 2013 Diccionario de la Ciudad de México and the 510-page 2000 Diccionario enciclopédico del Distrito Federal, for example, being among the very many that are not).

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias at SPU

Encyclopedia of Urban Studies. 2 vols. by E. Ray Hutchison (Editor)
Call Number: Online & Summit

Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of the City by Roger W. Caves (Editor)
Call Number: Online & Summit

Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures around the World. 4 vols. by Melvin Ember & Carol R. Ember (Editors)
Call Number: REF HT108.5 .E53 2002

Publication Date: 2002
Historical Dictionary of Singapore. New ed. by Justin Corfield
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2010

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Accessible via Summit Borrowing

Encyclopedia of World Cities. 2 vols. by Immanuel Ness (Editor)
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 1999
Historical Dictionary of Greater Johannesburg by Naomi Musiker & Reuben Musiker
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 1999
Daluyan: A Historical Dictionary of the Streets of Manila by National Historical Institute (Philippines) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 2006
Singapore Street Names: A Study of Toponymics. 4th ed. by Victor R. Savage & Brenda S. A. Yeoh
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 2022
Singapore Biodiversity: An Encyclopedia of the Natural Environment and Sustainable Development by Hugh T. W. Tan; Richard T. Corlett; Peter K. L. Ng
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Singapore by Justin Corfield & Robin S. Corfield
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 2006
Singapore: The Encyclopedia by Tommy Koh (Editor); Timothy Auger (Editor); Jimmy Yap (Editor); Ng Wei Chian (Editor)
Call Number: Summit

ISBN: 9814155632

Publication Date: 2006

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Elsewhere

The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Futures by Robert C. Brears (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Studies. 5 vols. by Anthony M. Orum (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019