Subject Guides: HIS 3387 Christianity in Asia: Articles

Periodical Indices or Serial Bibliographies at Seattle Pacific University

Atla Religion Database & AtlaSerials
This database, produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journals and essay collections in religion, with links to full text. Its coverage extends from 1949 to the present, with some retrospective indexing underway.

Historical Abstracts
Scheduled to disappear in January of 2024, but still selectable in EBSCOhost under Choose Databases. When it does disappear, use Historical Abstracts at the University of Washington (below).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Its coverage ranges back as far as 1887 for some titles.
Google Scholar
This search engine searches for scholarly research across many disciplines and sources. By starting your Google search from the SPU pages, the results will link to SPU-owned full-text.
JSTOR
The relevant journals in JSTOR should all be indexed in the databases listed above. But sometimes you can get JSTOR to return scholarship you hadn't turned up elsewhere.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
offers 300-plus full-text journals, covering world religions, denominations, biblical studies, history of philosophy & religion, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, and moral philosophy.

Periodical Indices or Serial Bibliographies on the Open Web

Index Theologicus (lxTheo)
indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus Festschriften and congress publications. Its coverage extends from 1970 to the present.

Periodical Indices or Serial Bibliographies at the University of Washington & Elsewhere

You must be within range of the University of Washington's wireless network to use the University of Washington's databases.

Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials PLUS
Offers more full-text than the SPU version above.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Historical Abstracts

Research Guides at the University of Washington
See especially the Articles tabs under
Asian Studies,
East Asian Studies,
South Asian Studies, &
Southeast Asian Studies.

Official Subject Headings in the Databases

What works in official Subject fields will vary from database to database. For help with official Subject headings in the EBSCOhost databases, see, in the blue bar at the top, Thesaurus and Indexes for the Atla Religion Database, Indexes for Historical Abstracts and (at the University of Washington) Bibliography of Asian Studies, and Subject Terms and (under More) Indexes for Academic Search Complete. Here, for example, is a shot of this for the Atla Religion Database: