Subject Guides: THEO 6080 Global Christian Heritage III: AD 1900-Present (Strong): Where to Search in General

Where to Search for Reference Material (in progress)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Religion in America. Ed. Corrigan
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Religion in America. 2nd ed.. Ed. Lippy & Williams. 4 vols.
Call Number: REF BL2520 .E52 2010.
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Religion in America. List of Entries.
Encyclopedia of Protestantism. Ed. Hillerbrand. 4 vols.
Call Number: REF BX4811.3 .E53 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of American Religious History, 2 vols. by Edward L. Queen (Editor)
Call Number: REF BL2525 .!44 2001
Publication Date: 2002
See under "Neoorthodoxy" (vol. 2, pp. 496-499, with starter bibliography).
Dictionary of Christianity in America. Ed. Reid, Stout, Linder, & Shelley
Call Number: REF & General Collection BR515 .D53 1990
Publication Date: 1990

Databases at Seattle Pacific University:

Atla Religion Database & AtlaSerials
This database, produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journals and essay collections in religion, with links to full text. Its coverage extends from 1949 to the present, with some retrospective indexing underway.

Religion & Philosophy Collection
offers 300-plus full-text journals, covering world religions, denominations, biblical studies, history of philosophy & religion, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, and moral philosophy.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Its coverage ranges back as far as 1887 for some titles.

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Biography is a core index to literary criticism and the humanities, with emphasis on literature, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Its coverage extends from 1926 to the present.

Databases at the University of Washington (which you must be on the UW campus to use):

For the full-text of an unpublished dissertation indexed in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I (above),

run a Google search on the title in quotation marks (e.g. the 2019 University of Toronto Ph.D. dissertation "Freedom Dues: Negotiating Race, Servitude, and Freedom in Early American Law and Literature", by Marci Michelle Faith Prescott-Brown, which contextualizes, among other works of fiction, Harriet Wilson's Our Nig, is available online) and/or, failing that,
try ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global from the University of Washington campus.