The examples way below (as indexed at the left) should come last in the order of authority. Consult first (for official updates and interpretations)
Society of Biblical Literature. "SBL Handbook of Style: Explanations, Clarifications, and Expansions."Next in order of authority should come
An early simplified version of the latter would be
More authoritative than anything below might be, in hard cases not well-covered by SBL style, the style on which SBL 2 is based, namely Chicago 17:
Harper, Russell David, ed. The Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2017.
Booth, Wayne C. et al., eds. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. 9th ed. Chicago, IL: The University of Chicago Press, 2018.In the penultimate position might come the cheat sheets on SBL 2 created for specific courses at SPU:
But for some sometimes tentative and less authoritative examples (including interpretations), see below.
Each box contains an example of
for the Notes and Bibliography option:
Later I hope to add counterparts for the Author-Date and Works Cited option.
The SBL Handbook of Style guides more than simply Citation Style (sec. 6, pp. 68-108). See, for example, secs. 4 (on General Style, pp. 12-54), 5 (on Transliterating and Transcribing Ancient Texts, pp. 55-67), and 8 (on Abbreviations, pp. 117-260).
For some of the general rules, added as questions about them arise, see the box at the bottom labelled Further Notes on SBL Style.
Should you need further help, or encounter an example for which you would like to see a paradigm constructed, please do use the contact information in the Subject Librarian box to let me know.
6. Brian Bantum, Redeeming Mulatto: A Theology of Race and Christian Hybridity (Waco, TX: Baylor University Press, 2010), 75.
17. Bantum, Redeeming Mulatto, 83.
6. David R. Nienhuis and Robert W. Wall, Reading the Epistles of James, Peter, John, and Jude as Scripture: The Shaping and Shape of a Canonical Collection (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2013), 17.
17. Nienhuis and Wall, Reading the Epistles of James, Peter, John, and Jude as Scripture, 13.
6. Bernard Brandon Scott et al., Reading New Testament Greek (Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 1993), 53.
17. Scott et al., Reading New Testament Greek, 42.
6. Miriam Adeney, Femmes musulmanes: Construire des ponts avec elles, trans. Evelyne Zwahlen (Thoune, Switzerland: Edition Sénevé, 2005), 34.
17. Adeney, Femmes musulmanes, 34.
6. Daniel Castelo, ed., Holiness as a Liberal Art (Eugene, OR: Pickwick, 2012), 42.
17. Castelo, Holiness as a Liberal Art, 43.
6. Paul L. Gavrilyuk, Douglas M. Koskela, and Jason E. Vickers, eds., Immersed in the Life of God: The Healing Resources of the Christian Faith: Essays in Honor of William J. Abraham (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2008), 115.
17. Gavrilyuk, Koskela, and Vickers, 51.
6. Douglas M. Strong et al., eds., Reclaiming the Wesleyan Tradition: John Wesley’s Sermons for Today (Nashville: Discipleship Resources, 2007), 103.
17. Strong et al., eds., Reclaiming the Wesleyan Tradition, 101.
6. Donald W. Dayton, Rediscovering an Evangelical Heritage: A Tradition and Trajectory of Integrating Piety and Justice, 2nd ed., ed. with an Introduction and Conclusion by Douglas M. Strong (Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2014), 88.
17. Dayton, Rediscovering an Evangelical Heritage, 2nd ed., 153.
6. Karl Barth, 1959-1962, vol. 1 of Barth in Conversation, ed. Eberhard Busch, Karlfried Froehlich, and Darrell L. Guder, trans. The Translation Fellows of the Center for Barth Studies, Princeton Theological Seminary (Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2017), 64.
17. Barth, 1959-1962, 61.
6. Robert Drovdahl, "The Developmental Use of Mentoring," in Nuture That Is Christian: Developmental Perspectives on Christian Education, ed. Jim Wilhite and John Dettoni (Wheaton, IL: Victor Books, 1995), 233.
17. Drovdahl, "The Developmental Use of Mentoring," 226.
6. John Wesley, "Christian Perfection" (Sermon 40 (1741)), in John Wesley's Sermons: An Anthology, ed. Albert C. Outler and Richard P. Heitzenrater (Nashville: Abingdon Press, 1991), 82.
17. Wesley, "Christian Perfection," 79.
6. Frank Anthony Spina, "The 'Face of God': Esau in Canonical Context," in The Quest for Context and Meaning: Studies in Biblical Intertextuality in Honor of James A. Sanders, ed. Craig A. Evans and Shemaryahu Talmon (Leiden: Brill, 1997), 9-10.
17. Spina, "The 'Face of God,'" 23.
6. Douglas M. Strong, introduction to Rediscovering an Evangelical Heritage: A Tradition and Trajectory of Integrating Piety and Justice, by Donald W. Dayton and Douglas M. Strong, 2nd ed. (Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2014), 17.
Note: the actual title of this introduction ("Introduction to the Second Edition (2014): A Tradition of Integrated Faith") does not appear at 6.2.14 in The SBL handbook of Style. Note also that because the example in The SBL Handbook of Style is a 1st edition, I have had to innovate a bit at that point here.
17. Strong, introduction, 36.
6. Albert C. Outler and Richard P. Heitzenrater, introduction to "Christian Perfection" (Sermon 40 (1741)), in John Wesley's Sermons: An Anthology, ed. Albert C. Outler and Richard P. Heitzenrater (Nashville: Abingdon Press, 1991), 69.
17. Outler and Heitzenrater, introduction to "Christian Perfection," 69.
6. Brenda Salter McNeil, Roadmap to Reconciliation 2.0: Moving Communities into Unity, Wholeness, and Justice, 2nd ed. (Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2020), 57.
17. McNeil, Roadmap to Reconciliation 2.0, 139.
This book is also called, less officially, the "revised and expanded edition," and that, according to SBL 2, would be rev. and exp. edition or (in a Bibliography) Rev. and exp. edition.
6. Craig S. Keener, Acts: An Exegetical Commentary, 4 vols. (Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2012-2015), 2:123.
17. Keener, Acts, 2:117.
Note that the example above, which works well also here, is actually a Bible Commentary (6.4.9), below. But a Bible Commentary in no series.
For an example of this, see Book with Author, Editor, and Translator (6.2.10 (with 6.2.21)), above.
6. Karlfried Froehlich, "Christian Interpretation of the Old Testament in the High Middle Ages," in Hebrew Bible/Old Testament: The History of Its Interpretation, ed. Magne Saebø (Göttingen: Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, 2000), 1.2:501.
17. Froehlich, "Christian Interpretation of the Old Testament in the High Middle Ages," 1.2:523.
This from a different volume of the very same multi-volume work used at 6.2.22 in The SBL Handbook of Style, Second Edition. But because each volume is, in fact, separately titled (The Middle Ages being part 2 of vol. 1, which is itself entitled From the Beginnings to the Middle Ages (until 1300)), it could also serve as an example of 6.2.23 A Chapter within a Titled Volume in a Multivolume Work.
6. Nancy T. Ammerman, "North American Protestant Fundamentalism," in Fundamentalisms Observed, ed. Martin E. Marty and R. Scott Appleby, vol. 1 of The Fundamentalism Project, ed. Martin E. Marty and R. Scott Appleby (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1991), 21.
17. Ammerman, "North American Protestant Fundamentalism," 29-38.
For an example that could be turned into a more complicated version of A Chapter within a Titled Volume in a Multivolume Work, see Chapter within a Multivolume Work (6.2.22), immediately above.
6. Bo Lim, The 'Way of the Lord' in the Book of Isaiah, LHBOTS 522 (London: T & T Clark International, 2010), 131-57.
17. Lim, The 'Way of the Lord,' 141.
Note: At SPU it is permissible to spell bibliographical abbreviations out: Library of Hebrew Bible/Old Testament Studies.
6. Robert W. Wall, Why the Church? RNT (Nashville: Abingdon, 2015), EBL edition, ch. 3.
17. Wall, Why the Church? ch. 4.
Note: "If citing a PDF e-book that is identical in all respects to the print edition, it is not necessary to indicate the format consulted. However, because other electronic formats do not conform in all respects to the print edition, in those cases authors must indicate the format consulted.... Since e-reader formats do not have stable page numbers, it is preferable to cite the print edition. However, if an alternative format is consulted, in lieu of a page number, include a chapter or section number...." This e-book would actually be an example of one "identical in all respects to the print edition" and therefore possessing "stable page numbers", but I cite it here as if this were not the case. "When citing an online version of a book, include the DOI. In the absence of a DOI, include the URL" (91), as follows:
Older work (in this case the reprint of the translation of a commentary) "made available freely online": an interpretation of secs. 6.2.17-18, 6.2.25, and 6.4.9, NOW SUPERCEDED TO SOME EXTENT BY THE FOLLOWING SBL BLOG POSTS: "Citing Text Collections 6: ANF and NPNF". Text optional according to secs. 6.2.18 (p. 88) and 6.2.25 (p. 91) in red. Remember that "it is preferable to cite the print edition. However, if an alternative format is consulted, in lieu of a page number, include a chapter or section number in the citation" (6.2.25, p. 91, as in the case of the Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) examples below, where "vol. 2 at Luke 12:17" and "vol. 2 at Luke 12:13" replace the volume-and-page numbers "2:149" and 2:146"). Note that the translator is especially important in this case because there is at least one other translator of Calvin's Harmonia, namely A. W. Morrison:
6. John Calvin, Commentary on a Harmony of the Evangelists, Matthew, Mark, and Luke, trans. William Pringle, 3 vols. (Edinburgh: Calvin Translation Society, 1845-1846; repr., Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1965), 2:149, http://hdl.handle.net/2027/uva.x000210834?urlappend=%3Bseq=155.
6. John Calvin, Commentary on a Harmony of the Evangelists, Matthew, Mark, and Luke, trans. William Pringle, 3 vols. (Edinburgh: Calvin Translation Society, 1845-1846; repr., Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1965), vol. 2 at Luke 12:17, http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom32.ii.xxv.html.
17. Calvin, Commentary on a Harmony of the Evangelists, 2:146, http://hdl.handle.net/2027/uva.x000210834?urlappend=%3Bseq=152.
17. Calvin, Commentary on a Harmony of the Evangelists, vol. 2 at Luke 12:13, http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom32.ii.xxv.html.
6. Richard B. Steele, "Christian Virtue and Ministry to Persons with Disabilities," JRDH 1 (2010): 28-46.
17. Steele, "Christian Virtue," 37.
Note: at SPU it is permissible to spell bibliographic abbreviations out: Journal of Religion, Disability, and Health.
THERE ARE NOW SOME MODIFICATIONS AND FURTHER EXPLANATIONS AND EXAMPLES ON THE OFFICIAL SBL HANDBOOK BLOG. NOTE: "Signed dictionary and encyclopedia articles are included in the bibliography, but the works themselves are not. Full references to dictionaries and encyclopedias should be provided only in an abbreviations list." Thus all topical dictionary and encyclopedias are listed in a List of Abbreviations. Whereas only those with signed contributions are given also a (very differently formatted) entry in a Bibliography.
SIGNED ENTRY, SINGLE VOLUME, FOUR OR MORE EDITORS:
6. Kerry Dearborn, "Celtic Spirituality and Theology," GDT 143.
17. Dearborn, "Celtic Spirituality," 144.
[IN LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS, AS FORMATTED IN THE TABLE NEAR THE BOTTOM AT THE LINK ABOVE:] GDT Dyrness, William A., et al., eds. Global Dictionary of Theology: A Resource for the Worldwide Church. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2008.
Note: at SPU is is permissible to spell bibliographic abbreviations out: Global Dictionary of Theology.
SIGNED ENTRY, MULTI-VOLUME, FOUR OR MORE EDITORS:
6. Jeffrey F. Keuss, "Baptism IV. Literature," EBR 3:467.
17. Keuss, "Baptism," 3:466.
[IN LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS, AS FORMATTED IN THE TABLE NEAR THE BOTTOM AT THE LINK ABOVE:] EBR Klauck, Hans-Josef, et al. eds. Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception. Berlin: de Gruyter, 2009- .
Note: at SPU is is permissible to spell bibliographic abbreviations out: Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception.
UNSIGNED ENTRY, SINGLE VOLUME, TWO OR THREE EDITORS:
6. NIBD, s.v. "Apocrypha, The."
17. NIBD, s.v. "Apocrypha, The."
[IN LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS ONLY, NOT BIBLIOGRAPHY:] NIBD Youngblood, Ronald F., F. F. Bruce, and R. K. Harrison, eds. Nelson's Illustrated Bible Dictionary. New and enhanced edition. Nashville: Thomas Nelson, 2014.
Note: at SPU is is permissible to spell bibliographic abbreviations out: Nelson's Illustrated Bible Dictionary.
NOTE: IT IS VERY IMPORTANT NOW TO CONSULT ON THIS TOPIC THIS SERIES OF OFFICIAL SBL POSTS: Citing Reference Works 1, Citing Reference Works 2: Lexica, AND Citing Reference Works 3: Dictionaries (Word). THESE SUPERCEDE THE HANDBOOK OF 2014 ON THESE SUBJECTS, AND DISTINGUISH CRUCIALLY BETWEEN 1) ENTRIES VERSUS ARTICLES, 2) SIGNED VERSUS UNSIGNED PIECES, AND 3) AUTHORED VERSUS EDITED WORK.
Note: "Subsequent citations of the same entry [in a lexicon] should be identical to the original. In this case there is no shortened reference." By contrast, "Subsequent citations of [the same article in a dictionary] should be treated like any other article or essay: include the author last name, title, and location."
"Neither lexica nor any words referenced in them [(i.e. no lexica entries)] should be included in a bibliography. Full references should be provided only in an abbreviations list." By contrast, "Although dictionary articles [(as distinguished from lexica entries)] are included in a bibliography, the dictionaries-of-words themselves are not. Full references should be provided only in an abbreviations list." Thus all lexica and dictionaries (or theological wordbooks) are listed in a List of Abbreviations. Whereas only those dictionaries (or theological wordbooks) with signed contributions (but not any lexica) are given also a (very differently formatted) entry in a Bibliography.
Also, it is permissible to refer directly to a specific numbered subsection of an entry or article. Italicize title-based abbreviations (NIDNTTE), but do not italicize author/editor-based abbreviations (BDAG). For more detail than can be reproduced here, go to the links above.
Note: To create Greek and Hebrew, cut and paste from the Web-based tools, or create for yourself in others such as this one for Hebrew and this one for Greek (see me for help with this, if necessary). But change the font to something like Times New Roman.
Dictionary of Classical Hebrew (8-volume lexicon paginated non-consecutively; unsigned entries: no bibliographical entry, list of abbreviations entry for lexicon):
6. DCH 7, s.v. "רֹאשׁ."
[CREATE LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS ENTRY FOR LEXICON]
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament (signed article: bibliographical entry for article, list of abbreviations entry for dictionary):
6. Jan-Adolph Bühner, "καθίστημι, καθιστάνω," EDNT 2:225-26.
17. Bühner, "καθίστημι, καθιστάνω," 2:225-26.
[CREATE LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS ENTRY FOR DICTIONARY]
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament (unsigned entry: no bibliographical entry, list of abbreviations entry for dictionary)
6. EDNT, s.v. "καθοράω."
[CREATE LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS ENTRY FOR DICTIONARY]
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature (unsigned entries: no bibliographical entry, list of abbreviations entry for lexicon):
6. BDAG, s.v. "παρίστημι/παριστάνω."
[CREATE LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS ENTRY FOR LEXICON]
Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament (2-volume lexicon paginated consecutively; unsigned entries: no bibliographical entry, list of abbreviation entry for lexicon): cite set author as author of all:
6. HALOT, s.v. "חֶסֶד."
[CREATE LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS ENTRY FOR LEXICON]
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (signed articles: bibliographical entry for article, list of abbreviations entry for dictionary):
6. Hans Conzelmann, "φῶς κτλ," TDNT 9:333.
17. Conzelmann, "φῶς κτλ," 9:332.
[CREATE LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS ENTRY FOR DICTIONARY]
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis (all articles revised by set editor): cite set editor as author of all: bibliographical entry for article, list of abbreviations entry for dictionary):
6. Moisés Silva, "οἰκονομία κτλ," NIDNTTE 3:467.
17. Silva, "οἰκονομία κτλ," 3:467.
[CREATE LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS ENTRY FOR DICTIONARY]
Theological Lexicon of the New Testament (all articles written by set author): cite set author as author of all: bibliographical entry for article, list of abbreviations entry for dictionary):
6. Ceslas Spicq, "εὐαγγελίζομαι κτλ," TLNT 2:89.
17. Spicq, "εὐαγγελίζομαι κτλ," 2:84.
[CREATE LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS ENTRY FOR DICTIONARY]
Note that, unlike Chicago style, SBL style places date before month and year. Why, I have no idea:
Paper Presented at a Professional Society
6. Richard B. Steele,"Teaching Christian Prison Literature in Prison" (paper presented at the Church History Section of the Pacific Northwest Regional Meeting of the AAR/SBL, Portland, OR, 11 May 2012), 3.
17. Steele, "Teaching Christian Prison Literature," 7.
Lecture (cf. The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. (2017), no. 14.217, on p. 852, which is identical to the following):
6. Richard B. Steele, "Maximus Confessor and the Monothelite Controversy" (THEO 6020 lecture, Seattle Pacific Seminary, Seattle, WA, 3 November 2015).
17. Steele, "Maximus Confessor."
Power Point Presentation
6. Richard B. Steele, "Maximus Confessor and the Monothelite Controversy" (THEO 6020 Power Point presentation, Seattle Pacific Seminary, Seattle, WA, 3 November 2015), slide 47.
17. Steele, "Maximus Confessor," slide 15.
6. Jeff Keuss, "The Emergent Church and Neo-Correlational Theology after Tillich, Schleiermacher, and Browning," SJT 61 (2008): 452, doi:10.1017/S0036930608004201.
17. Keuss, "The Emergent Church," 459.
Note: "electronic journal article citations should include a DOI (preferred) or a URL. The URL must resolve directly onto the page on which the article appears. Both DOI and URL may be included if desired" (95). At SPU it is permissible to spell bibliographic abbreviations out: Scottish Journal of Theology.
6. Diana Gail Keuss, “Praxi-Centric Phenomenology: from Nāgārjuna though Dōgen to Martin Heidegger” (PhD diss., University of Glasgow, 2006), 153, https://theses.gla.ac.uk/71051/.
17. Keuss, “Praxi-Centric Phenomenology,” 93.
"For manuscripts under contract but not yet published, [by contrast,] see [CMS17] 14.146."
6, Richard B. Steele, "Chapter 3: Maximus the Confessor" (unpublished manuscript, September 13, 2022), Adobe Acrobat PDF file, 32.
17. Steele, "Maximus," 2.
Here is an example of an ancient epistle lifted out of two different translations-in-print and mounted on two different web pages. Because the reader may not actually have consulted the "original" in print, the material in red is optional:
6. Pelagius, Letter to Demetrias, par. 3 (Van de Weyer).
17. Pelagius, Letter to Demetrias, par. 4.
Only in this case, though (a reproduction of the standard translation), is the uniform system of reference embedded:
6. Pelagius, Letter to Demetrias 2.1 (Rees).
17. Pelagius, Letter to Demetrias 2.2.
Here is another. Because the EWTN obscures the fact that it has reproduced the Butterworth translation, the material in red is optional. Because it drops the first and last three paragraphs of the Tome as present in Tanner, the "par." references are a non-standard EWTN-specific stop-gap. The Tome of Leo is also called Epistle 28, the Epistle Dogmatica, and so forth:
6. Leo I, Tome, par. 9 (EWTN).
17. Leo I, Tome, par. 3.
And here, another:
6. Ignatius, Epistle to the Ephesians 10 (Louth and Staniforth).
17. Ignatius, Ephesians 19.
And here is an example of an ancient epistle without an established author, as translated in a print-based series and not reproduced online. Note that at SPU it is permissible to spell the series (Library of Christian Classics) out:
6. Martyrdom of Polycarp 7.3 (Shepherd).
17. Martyrdom of Polycarp 2.4.
More (admittedly not yet perfectly harmonized with the above):
6. James the Deacon, Life of St. Pelagia the Harlot, trans. [from the Eustochian Latin by] Helen Waddell (Waddell, pp. 186, 189-195).
17. James the Deacon, Life of St. Pelagia (Waddell, pp. 187-188).
Still more (again not yet perfectly harmonized with the above):
6. Benedict, Saint, Abbot of Monte Cassino, Rule, trans. Ernest F. Henderson, chap. 73 (Jolly, pp. ).
17. Benedict, Saint, Rule, chap. 2.
6. Gregory I, Pope, Dialogues 2 ([Life of Saint Benedict]), trans. Edmund G. Garner, chap. 20 (Jolly, pp. ).
17. Gregory I, [Life of Saint Benedict], chap. 37. NOTE: You could write also just Gregory I, Dialogues 2.20 (or Dialogues, bk. 2, chap. 20), just so long as you do the same immediately above. I've taken my names from the Library of Congress Name Authority, though SBL style does not specify this.
NOTE: THIS HAS NOW BEEN SUPERCEDED BY A POST TO THE SBL CITATION STYLE BLOG ENTITLED "Snippet Text Collections."
6. Jerome, Commentary on Haggai 1.11, trans. Alberto Ferreiro (ACCS OT 14:221) .
6. Jerome, Homilies on the Psalms 60, trans. Marie Liguori Ewald (ACCS OT 14:154).
6. John Cassian, Conference 9.18, trans. Owen Chadwick* (ACCS OT 14:154-55).
6. Origen, Homilies on Jeremiah 15.3.2, trans. John Clark Smith** (ACCS OT 14:173).
Note: Since the student would have to know how to procure it on the basis of the relevant footnote in a given volume of ACCS, information about the translator (in red) shall be considered entirely optional. Nonetheless, see (in this case) ACCS OT 14:xiv, where a single asterisk (*) is said to indicate that the pre-existing translation utlized by editor Ferreiro has been only slightly updated, but a double asterisk (**), that it has been significantly amended. Also, Nicole Tilford of SBL has suggested that the Augustine example at 6.4.5 (ANF and NPNF), rather than 6.4.1.1 (COS), be used as the model, and that ACCS OT be cited as a work in a series (6.2.24) rather than as a titled volume in a multivolume work (6.2.21), which is how I cite it in the bibliography entry below.
17. Jerome, Commentary on Haggai 1.11, ACCS OT 14:221.
6. Robert W. Wall and Richard B. Steele, 1 and 2 Timothy and Titus, THNTC (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2012), 83.
17. Wall and Steele, 1 and 2 Timothy and Titus, 420-21.
Note: at SPU it is permissible to spell bibliographic abbreviations out: Two Horizons New Testament Commentary.
New Interpreter's Bible. The New Interpreter's Bible falls under 6.4.9-10 and 6.2.21-23, which cannot be perfectly harmonized. The following represents therefore my own best (albeit fallible) judgment. The text in red appears on the authority of 6.2.20-22 rather than 6.4.9, and is therefore entirely optional. To me it remains unclear whether the title of the individual commentary should be placed between quotations marks or italicized, though I would prefer the latter:
6. Robert W. Wall, The Acts of the Apostles: Introduction, Commentary, and Reflections, in NIB 10, ed. Leander E. Keck (Nashville: Abingdon, 2002), 75-86.
17. Wall, The Acts of the Apostles, 81.
Note: at SPU it is permissible to spell bibliographic abbreviations out: New Interpreter's Bible.
6. François Bovon, A Commentary on the Gospel of Luke 1:1-9:50, trans. Christine M. Thomas, vol. 1 of Luke, Hermeneia (Minneapolis: Fortress, 2002), 412.
17. Bovon, A Commentary on the Gospel of Luke 1:1-9:50, 398.
See 6.2.20 (from 6.4.10), A Multivolume Work, for citing a commentary like this as a whole. (Are there any multivolume commentaries on a single book of the Bible that don't title their volumes somewhat differently, if only by the chapters (and verses) covered? If so, then 6.2.20, which, in the case of the footnotes, at least, links the volume number with the page number after place of publication, publisher, and date of publication by means of a colon (2:799), would be the example to follow in that case, too.)
See p. 2 of the online "Student supplement," above.
Here I follow the online "Student supplement," above, but have chosen to insert before the page number some information about the specific components of the entry being cited:
6. Donald W. Burdick, "James," in NIV Study Bible: New International Version, fully rev. ed., ed. Kenneth L. Barker et al. (Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2020), Study Note on Jas. 2:14-26, 2182.
17. Burdick, "James," Text Note on Jas. 4:11, 2182.
20. Burdick, "James," Article on "James and Wealth," 2185.
32. Burdick, "James," Introduction, 2175.
The NET Bible notes at netbible.org are differentiated as follows: sn=study note; tc=text critical [note]; tn=translator's note; map=map [note].
6. “NET Notes,” in the NET Bible (Bible.org, Biblical Studies Press, 2019), note 12 (a text critical note) at Matt 5:11, https://netbible.org/bible/Matthew+5.
17. “NET Notes,” note 9 (a study note) at Matt 5:6, https://netbible.org/bible/Matthew+5.
The NET Bible incorporates also the commentary of others, for example, Matthew Henry (1662-1714):
6. Matthew Henry, in the NET Bible (Bible.org, Biblical Studies Press, 2019), at Gen 12, https://netbible.org/bible/Genesis+12.
17. Henry, at Gen 11, https://netbible.org/bible/Genesis+11.
Or Thomas L. Constable (1939- ):
6. "Constable's Notes," in the NET Bible (Bible.org, Biblical Studies Press, 2019), at Gen 12:19-20, https://netbible.org/bible/Genesis+12.
17. "Constable's Notes," at Gen 11:10-26, https://netbible.org/bible/Genesis+11.
See also now the "Citing URLs" entry on the SBL Handbook of Style website.
Website:
Blog ("Blog entries . . . may be omitted from the bibliography"):
6. Richard B. Steele, "They're Not Dancing," Dean's Desk (blog), Signposts from Seattle Pacific Seminary (blog), 11 March 2015, http://blog.spu.edu/signposts/theyre-not-dancing/.
17. Steele, "They're Not Dancing."
Cite the Bible parenthetically in line rather in a footnote, as follows, using the abbreviations for the biblical books given in 8.3.1-2 (pp. 124-125), and those for translations and/or versions given in 8.2.1:
See sec. 8.3.8-10 (pp. 130-132) of The SBL Handbook of Style, Second Edition. b. = Babylonian Talmud; Ḥul. or Ḥag. = the tractate; 98b and 18b = the page in the Hebrew (reverse of leaves 98 and 18 in both cases). Text in red gives the translator, and is optional (would be omitted for the same tractate the second and all subsequent times):
6. b. Ḥul. 98b (Cashdan).
17. b. Ḥag. 18b (Rabbinowitz).
Cite "chapter" and subsection. Elements in red represent clarifying personal (and therefore optional) additions to sec. 8.3.8-10 of The SBL Handbook of Style, Second Edition:
First in-text citation, where "Freedman" gives the translator, and "Freedman and Simon" refers to volume and page number of the edition in English. The latter could be especially important in the case of a long "chapter" without enumerated subsections, for example Gen. Rab. 97 (Vayechi) (Freedman; Freedman and Simon 2:906). Or, alternatively, I suppose, Gen. Rab 97 (Vayechi), at Gen. 49:9.
Gen. Rab. 92 (Mikketz).5 (Freedman; Freedman and Simon 2:851-852).
Subsequent in-text citation:
Gen. Rab. 92 (Mikketz).3 (Freedman and Simon 2:850).
First in-text citation:
Exod. Rab. 15 (Bo).30 (Lehrman; Freedman and Simon 3:203).
Second in-text citation:
Exod. Rab. 15 (Bo).24 (Freedman and Simon 3:195).
Bibliography:
On the Ante-Nicene Fathers (ANF) and the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers (NPNF), with some reference to the instantiation of those in the Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL), see now "Citing Text Collections 6: ANF and NPNF" at SBL Handbook of Style: Explanations, Clarifications, and Expansions.
6. Council of Nicaea (1st : 325 : Nicaea, Turkey), Canons, [trans. Edward Yarnold, Nicaea I to Lateran V, vol. 1 of Decrees of the Ecumenical Councils, ed. Norman P. Tanner (Washington, DC: Georgetown University Press, 1990),] no. 6, https://www.papalencyclicals.net/councils/ecum01.htm.
17. Council of Nicaea (1st), Canons, nos. 10-12.
6. Council of Constantinople (1st : 381 : Constantinople), Canons, [trans. Robert Butterworth, Nicaea I to Lateran V, vol. 1 of Decrees of the Ecumenical Councils, ed. Norman P. Tanner (Washington, DC: Georgetown University Press 1990),] no. 7, https://www.papalencyclicals.net/Councils/ecum02.htm.
17. Council of Constantinople (1st), Canons, no. 5.
6. Vatican Council (2nd : 1962-1965 : Basilica di San Pietro in Vaticano), Dogmatic Constitution on Divine Revelation Dei Verbum (November 18, 1965), V/17. https://www.vatican.va/archive/hist_councils/ii_vatican_council/documents/vat-ii_const_19651118_dei-verbum_en.html.
17. Vatican Council (2nd), Dei Verbum III/12.
BUT IF CITED FROM A VERSION ON PAPER RATHER THAN THE VATICAN WEBSITE, FOLLOW THE FULLER EXAMPLES IN BRACKETS IN RED (AND LEAVE OFF THE URL), ABOVE. (Those books are present above because the translations at those URLs appear to have been taken from the books cited in red.)
My best guess.
The Catechism has been changing slightly over time, so you will need to cite the precise edition(s) you consulted. Though my own preference would be for a simple CCC 2267 (an abbreviation of the title), I’ll attempt to follow what I take to be the relevant sections in The SBL Handbook of Style in its preference for the citation of an (in this case corporate) author (and making that, which is to say the author, the key to the Bibliography) wherever possible. Here is an example for paragraph 2267, which, along with some of its surrounding numbers, was revised by Pope Francis in such a way as practically to de-legitimize the death penalty a few years ago:
On paper (an example):
6. Catholic Church, Catechism of the Catholic Church with Modifications from the Editio Typica, trans. for the United States of America by the United States Catholic Conference, Inc. & Liberia Editrice Vaticana (New York: Doubleday, 1997), no. 2267.
17. Catholic Church, Catechism, no. 2266.
Online (this version now incorporates the revision of no. 2267 and surrounding numbers):
6. Catholic Church, Catechism of the Catholic Church, The Holy See, no. 2267, https://www.vatican.va/archive/ENG0015/__P7Z.HTM. [Note that this link takes your reader as close as possible via a URL to no. 2267 specifically.]
17. Catholic Church, Catechism, no. 2666. [No link because same as the above in this case.]
Here are some further brief notes on SBL style, added as questions about them arise:
