Subject Guides: HIS 3730 History of the Modern Middle East: Works of Reference

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of the Middle East (General, Selected)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (6 vols.) by John L. Esposito (Editor)
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 2009

Online "Access for all on [the University of Washington] campus." SPU owns only the 1st edition, depicted above and entitled the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, at REF DS35.53 .O95 1995. Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. List of Entries.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa. 2nd ed. 4 vols. by Philip Mattar (Editor)
Call Number: REF DS43 .E53 2004

Publication Date: 2004
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa by Trevor Mostyn & Albert H. Hourani (Editors)
Call Number: REF DS44 .C37 1988

Publication Date: 1988

Encyclopædia Iranica. Ed. Yārshāṭir. 16 vols. to date.
Publication Date: 1982- ; 1996-
Historical Dictionary of Egypt. 4th ed. by Arthur Goldschmidt
Publication Date: 2013
Historical Dictionary of the Gulf Arab States by Malcolm C. Peck
Publication Date: 1996
The A to Z of Iran by John H. Lorentz
Publication Date: 2010
Iran Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Islamic Republic by Mehran Kamrava & Manochehr Dorraj (Editors)
Publication Date: 2008

For dictionaries & encyclopedias on women and gender in the Middle East, see HIS 3725 Women and Gender in the Middle East.

Atlas of the Near East: State Formation and the Arab-Israeli Conflict: 1918-2010 by Fabrice Balanche
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 2017

"This atlas was originally published in French in 2012 by Presses de l'universite Paris-Sorbonne."
Atlas du Moyen-Orient: aux racines de la violence by Pierre Blanc, Jean-Paul Chagnollaud, & Claire Levasseur
Publication Date: 2016
The (Penguin) State of the Middle East Atlas by Dan Smith
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 2016

Also called The State of the Middle East Atlas, but formerly The State of the Middle East: An Atlas of Conflict and Resolution.
An Atlas of Middle Eastern Affairs. 2nd ed. by Ewan W. Anderson & Liam D. Anderson
Call Number: Summit

Publication Date: 2014
The Routledge Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Conflict. 10th ed. by Martin Gilbert
Call Number: Summit & Online

Publication Date: 2012
The Cambridge Atlas of the Middle East & North Africa by Gerald H. Blake, John Dewdney, & Jonathan Mitchell
Call Number: ATL G2205 .C3 1987

Publication Date: 1988
Tübinger Atlas des Vorderen Orients (TAVO) by Sonderforschungsbereich 19 "Tübinger Atlas des Vorderen Orients" der Universität Tübingen
Call Number: University of Washington Suzzallo and Allen Libraries Maps Atlases Folio G2205 .T8 1977

Publication Date: 1977-1994

Link is to the Gesamtverzeichnis only. See especially sections B IX The Ottoman period up to 1918 and B X The period since the First World War, the contents of which are given on pp. 12-13.