Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - > Theology - Subject Guides at Seattle Pacific University

Dictionaries & encyclopedias of theology online

New dictionary of theology: historical and systematic. Ed. Davie et al. 2nd ed. IVP, 2016.
Online, and at REF BR95 .N39 2016.
Cambridge dictionary of Christian theology. Ed. McFarland. 2011.
Online, and at REF BV2.5 .C36.
Dictionnaire de spiritualité. Ed. Viller et al. 17 vols. 1932-1995.
REF BX841 .D67 1953. Online key here.
Encyclopedia of religion. 2nd ed. Ed. Jones. 15 vols. 2005.
Evangelical dictionary of theology. 3rd ed. Ed. Treier & Elwell. 2017.
Online, and at REF BR95 .E87 2001.
Global dictionary of theology: a resource for the worldwide church. Ed. Dryness & Kärkkäïnen. 2008.
Online, and at REF BR95 .G56 2008.
New Catholic encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Ed. Marthaler. 15 vols. 2003.
Can be accessed via King County and Sno-Isle public library system logins. Both of those online versions include the Supplements. SPU houses this on paper at REF BX841 .N44 2003.
Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church. 4th ed. Ed. Louth. 2 vols. 2022.
Online.
St Andrews Encyclopedia of Theology
"a nascent online, free-to-access encyclopaedia of the highest academic standards, treating the full discipline of Theology with rigour and clarity. Supported by St Mary’s College of the University of St Andrews and generously funded by the John Templeton Foundation, it will be comparable to, and to some extent modelled on, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, internationally recognized as a highly successful, authoritative resource and a driver of its discipline."
Treccani (Istituto della Enciclopedia Italiana)
Includes a collection of Italian dictionaries and encyclopedias online, some of them major and with very impressive article-specific bibliographies (Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani, Enciclopedia Dantesca, Enciclopedia dei Papi, etc.). Search all of them simultaneously here.
WiReLex: Das Wissenschaftlich-Religionspädagogischen Lexikon.

Dictionaries & encyclopedias of theology offline

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias of Theology (Short)
An abbreviated list. For a longer one, go here.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias of Theology (Long)
Created for a different purpose, this one is in dire need of much revision.
Dictionaries of Theological Terms

Dictionaries & encyclopedias of theology or religion online at the UW

Oxford research encyclopedia of religion. Ed. Barton

Dictionaries & encyclopedias of theology in the European languages (selected)

FINISH THIS LIST!

Dictionnaire de spiritualité. Ed. Viller et al. 17 vols. 1932-1995.
REF BX841 .D67 1953. Online key here.
Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche. 3rd ed. 11 vols. 1993-2001.
Gesamtregister online here. SPU owns the 2nd 1957-1965 edition, with the supplementary volumes on the Second Vatican Council, at REF BR95 .L48 1957.
Marienlexikon. Ed. Bäumer & Scheffczyk for the Instititutum Marianum Regensburg. 6 vols. St. Ottilien: EOS-Verlag, 1988-1994.
The Instititutum Marianum Regensburg plans to keep the Marienlexikon up-to-date online, from the Autumn of 2021. Watch for color in the original files available for downloading at the link above.
Theologische Realenzyklopädie. 36 vols. 1977- .
Gesamtregister only at REF BR95 .T47 2010. Vols. 1-16 in Perisho office.

Dictionaries & encyclopedias of philosophy

For a short and a long list of dictionaries and encyclopedias of philosophy, go here.

Dictionaries & encyclopedias of some theological utility (a short list)

Britannica online
Requires a King County Library System login. SPU houses this in paper at REF AE5 .E363 2007.
Oxford English dictionary
Link is to Seattle Public Library access. SPU houses this in paper at REF PE1625 .O87 1989.
Middle English dictionary
Dictionary of Old English