Benowitz. Encyclopedia of American women and religion. 2nd ed. 2017.
SPU has the 1st (1998) edition at REF BL2525 .B45 1998.
Encyclopedia of religious controversies in the United States. 2nd ed. Ed. Leonard & Crainshaw. 2012.
SPU has the 1st (1997) edition at REF BR515 .E53 1997.
Encyclopedia of religion in America. Ed. Lippy & Williams. 4 vols. 2010.
REF BL2520 .E52 2010. This is the 2nd edition of Encyclopedia of the American religious experience, 3 vols., ed. Lippy and Williams, 1988, REF BL2525 .E53 1988.
Encyclopedia of American religious history. 3rd ed. Ed. Queen, Prothero, & Shattuck. 3 vols. 2009.
SPU has the 2001 edition at REF BL2525 .Q44 2001.
Encyclopedia of religious revivals in America. Ed. McClymond. 2 vols. Greenwood Press, 2007.
REF BV3773 .E53 2007.
Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America. Ed. Keller & Ruether. 3 vols. Indiana University Press, 2006.
REF BL458 .E52 2006.
Encyclopedia of religion in the South. 2nd ed. Ed. Hill & Lippy. 2005.
REF BR535 .E52 2005.
Puritans and Puritanism in Europe and America: a comprehensive encyclopedia. Ed. Bremer & Webster. 2 vols. 2006.
REF BX9323 .P85 2006. Covers the years 1485-1702.
Balmer. Encyclopedia of evangelicalism. Rev. & expanded ed. 2004.
REF BR1640 .B35 2004.
Olson. Westminster handbook to evangelical theology. 2004.
REF BR1640 .O46 2004.
Encyclopedia of African and African-American religions. Ed. Glazier. 2001.
REF BL2462.5 .E53 2001.
Contemporary American religion. 2 vols. Ed. Roof. 2000.
REF BL2525 .C65 2000.
Dictionary of heresy trials in American Christianity. Ed. Shriver. 1997.
REF BR517 .D5 1997.
Encyclopedia of African-American religions. Ed. Murphy, Melton, and Ward. 1993.
REF BR563.N4 E53 1993.
Dictionary of Christianity in America. Ed. Reid. 1990.
REF BR515 .D53 1990.
Krapohl and Lippy. Evangelicals: a historical thematic, and biographical guide. 1999.
REF BV3773 .K73 1999.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Elsewhere
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States. Ed. Kurian. 5 vols. Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.
New encyclopedia of southern culture. Vol. 1: Religion. Ed. Hill. University of North Carolina Press, 2006.
University of Washington Suzzallo Reference F209 .N47 2006 v. 1.
Denominational Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
For a starter-list of Denominational Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Biographical or Otherwise, see
Works of reference only. Don't stop here, but rather, go on to Find Books and Articles!
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of American History in General (Selected Major)
Kutler, Stanley I., ed. Dictionary of American History. 3rd ed. 10 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, an imprint of Thompson Gale, 2003.
REF E174 .D52 2003.
Cayton, Mary Kupiec, and Peter W. Williams, eds. Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History. 3 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001.
REF E169.1 .E624 2001.
Finkelman, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century. 3 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001.
REF E169.1 .E626 2001.
Kutler, Stanley I., Robert Dallek, David A. Hollinger, and Thomas K. McCraw, eds. Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century. 4 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1996.
REF E740.7 .E53 1996.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks of Minority History & Culture (Selected, In Progress)
