Skip to main content

SPU Library Updates

The most current information about library resources, services, and space

Contactless Pickup

To reduce foot traffic and maintain the safety of our collections, our stacks are currently closed to patrons. If you would like an item from our collection (or from one of our partner libraries), please use our online catalog to locate the item and submit a request. Our staff will pull the book and check it out to you. You will receive an "On Hold Shelf" email notification when the item is ready for pickup.  

Requests should be made in advance and will be processed at regular intervals throughout the day. We apologize that we cannot accommodate on the spot requests.  

All items (SPU-owned, Summit and ILL) can be picked up in the Reading Room on the Main Floor of the Ames Library.    

If you have questions, please email circ@spu.edu or call (206) 281-2228. 

Online Materials

Learn more about searching for and using e-books through the SPU Library 

If SPU does not have immediate access to the ebooks or full text articles that you need, you might want to reach out to other libraries and sources:

  • As an SPU student you can obtain a Seattle Public Library card and check out digital materials from them and use their article databases.
  • Also check with your local city or county library system for access to their online books, articles, and films.
  • See the full Finding the Full Text guide for additional methods for finding full text

Scanning Requests

Submit a request to have a specific, SPU owned, article or book chapter/essay:

 

Reference collection: If you need to review something in our reference collection, you may request the scan of a particular chapter or entry (you can look in the library catalog or contact your liaison librarian for additional information about which chapter to request).  Additionally, we are allowing for the 24 hour checkout of many reference items. Contact the library via circ@spu.edu to request a 24 hour checkout.

Accessing Other Materials You Need

The SPU Library is committed to helping with online access to the resources that you need for classes.  Sometimes we may be able to provide an electronic version of the exact item you want; other times we may suggest electronic alternatives.  Use the links below to: