Subject Guides: BIO 2101 General Biology: Get Started

Assignment

Library Session Objectives:

Practice searching Academic Search Complete to find scholarly journal articles.
Find a hypothesis driven research article on a topic you have been studying in BIO 2101 that meets the objectives of the Scientific Paper Analysis assignment.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Its coverage ranges back as far as 1887 for some titles.

Video: Finding a Hypothesis Driven Science Article

This video will lead you through the steps of finding a hypothesis driven article: searching the database, recognizing a hypothesis driven article, and finding the full text of the article so that you may begin reading and completing your assignment.

Please contact the Reference Desk, or the Sciences Librarian, Carrie Fry, (see contact information in box to the left) if you run into any problems finding an article.

Additional Biology Databases at SPU

MEDLINE
MEDLINE covers all areas of healthcare, including medicine, dentistry, nursing, psychiatry, and nutrition.
Google Scholar
This search engine searches for scholarly research across many disciplines and sources. By starting your Google search from the SPU pages, the results will link to SPU-owned full-text.
SciFinder-n
indexes journal articles on chemistry topics and compounds. Contact the Sciences Librarian for assistance with this product. Before searching this database, you must create a SciFinder account. Use your SPU email address to register for an account, copy and paste this link into a new browser window and follow the instructions: https://tinyurl.com/lzjrooq