If you have citation information for a journal article, here are the options for locating a full-text copy:
- My mantra - “you are allowed to get frustrated, but you cannot give up.”
Step 1: Try searching for the title of the article using Google Scholar and Google. You never know…
Step 2: If you are in a database, try clicking on the Check For Full Text link under the title of the article. There may also be a Linked Full Text link, which, if you click, should take you to a full text copy of the article.
Step 3: Immediate need: From SPU home page www.spu.edu, click on the Library link at the top of the page.
- Type a journal title in the Search Library Resources box to find out whether SPU has full text.
- If there is full text available online, you should see the title of a journal with (Online) in parentheses.
- For example, Phi Delta Kappan (Online).
- Click on the Online access hyperlink and examine where SPU has access to the full text of the journal. Make sure you note the date ranges.
- Click on an appropriate hyperlink and navigate through the page to find the year, volume, issue and article.
- Once you find the article in question, you should see a PDF icon or an HTML hyperlink to click on to access the full text.
Step 4: Access within 1 day: Try using Libraries Worldwide to see if the University of Washington has the title
From SPU home page www.spu.edu, click on the Library link at the top of the page.
- Click on the Libraries Worldwide link on the
- Type the name of the journal into the search box, select Title from the dropdown menu where it says Keyword and click Search.
- Find and select the Journal, magazine format on the left under Format.
- Click on hyperlinked title of periodical
- Enter the 98119 zip code in the "Search location" box
- Scroll down to locate the University of Washington Libraries link and click on the hyperlinked name of the library. Examine the information carefully to be sure they have the necessary year, volume, and issue number of the journal. If they have an electronic format of the journal, check the date range that is covered.
- If the University of Washington has the item, you can go there and make a copy of the article or save it to a flash drive. Do not email the article to yourself.
Step 5: Access within 14 days: Request article via ILL (Interlibrary Loan)
- From SPU home page www.spu.edu, click on the Library link at the top of the page
- Click on the appropriate level link under SERVICES (Undergraduate, Graduate, or Faculty, etc.)
- Click on the hyperlink next to “Request materials through Interlibrary Loan”
- Log in using your Banner credentials. If this is the first time you are logging into Illiad, you will be asked to fill out a form
- Usually comes within an average of 5 days. Usually, an electronic copy will be delivered to your Illiad account. You will receive an email notifying you of its arrival.
