Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRI 1100: Ryder

Finding Articles Video

Articles

Search with keywords from your topic in the SPU Databases for articles.

*These databases can all be searched at the same time! Just open one of them and then click on "Choose Databases" above the search boxes to add the others.

image shows choose databases link in academic search complete

 

Obtaining the Full Text:

  • Full-text HTML or PDF in the database
  • Click on “Check for full-text”
  • In print or on microfilm at the SPU Library (“SPU holds this title”)
  • University of Washington
  • Inter Library Loan

Finding Books and Ebooks Video

Books

Search the SPU Library Catalog for books.

Search for an individual or use keywords related to your topic.

 

In the results list you will see which items are online, in print, and at other libraries ("Check Holdings").

results screen of search for chinese opera

Once you have the results, click on a title to get more information about a book.

The subjects will be listed and you can click on these to narrow your search down to items specifically on that subject.

Sometimes the subjects are quite different from what you might type in as keywords.

You can also see the Table of Contents and/or Description for the book so you can tell whether the book or a chapter within it is relevant.

catalog record for a book on Chinese opera