Ch. 1. Getting oriented -- Ch. 2. Setting a direction -- Ch. 3. Developing course rationale -- Ch. 4. Refining intended learning outcomes -- Ch. 5. Forming units of the course -- Ch. 6. Organizing the course's units -- Ch. 7. Developing general teaching strategies -- Ch. 8. Planning a course evaluation -- App. A. Colonial America : social studies curriculum for grade 5 / Kerry Nappi -- App. B. A survey of western art / Margaret Timmerman -- App. C. Immigration : a social studies unit for sixth graders / Michelle Chang -- App. D. A metric measurement unit for grades one and two / Susan M. Etheredge.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Part One: Bases for curriculum leadership. Goals and values -- Social forces : present and future -- Human development -- Learning and learning styles -- -- Part Two: Developing, implementing, and evaluating the curriculum. Approaches to curriculum development -- Curriculum implementation, instruction, and technology -- Curriculum evaluation and assessment of learning -- -- Part Three: The curriculum in action. Early childhood and elementary curricula -- Middle-level curricula -- High school curricula.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Second Edition of Curriculum Theory: Conflicting Visions and Enduring Concerns presents a clear, unbiased, and rigorous description of the major curriculum philosophies that have influenced educators and schooling over the last century. Author Michael Stephen Schiro analyzes four educational visions--Scholar Academic, Social Efficiency, Learner Centered, and Social Reconstruction--to enable readers to reflect on their own educational beliefs and more productively interact with educators who might hold different beliefs. New to this edition: In chapter 2, the section on teaching has been reorganized and a new subsection added on teachers as transmitters, mediators, or translators; several new sections on the learner centered ideology, including one major section that provides a description and analysis of a learner centered curriculum. Other sections include elements such as a discussion of the relationship between knowledge and experience, and the nature and structure of the learning environment of the ideology; seven new sections have been added to chapter 6, including six plays in which four teachers discuss their beliefs about enduring curricular issues and related current "hot" curriculum topics in ways that highlight the differences between the ideologies; and an additional section in chapter 6 discusses in how each of the ideologies takes advantage of the use of technology in curriculum and during instruction.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
The case for democratic schools / James A. Beane and Michael W. Apple -- La Escuela Fratney: a journey toward democracy / Bob Peterson -- "Feelin' what they feelin'": democracy and curriculum in Cabrini Green / Brian D. Schultz -- The situation made us special / Barbara L. Brodhagen -- Beyond the shop: reinventing vocational education / Larry Rosenstock and Adria Steinberg -- Central Park East Secondary School: the hard part is making it happen / Deborah meier and Paul Schwarz -- Lessons from democratic schools / Michael W. Apple and James A. Beane.
"Democratic Schools, Second Edition, shows in detail how educators can make a lasting difference by combining authentic, important lessons and a consistent, building- or system-wide focus on a critical and democratic education. Apple and Beane once more convene seven of America's most creative democratic educators for a powerful conversation about how to build an education that is worthy of our highest ideals."--Jacket.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 157-162).
Part I: The Curriculum: Theoretical Dimensions -- Chapter 1: Curriculum and instruction defined -- Chapter 2: Principles of curriculum development -- Part II: Curriculum Development: Role of School Personnel -- Chapter 3: Curriculum planning: a multilevel, multisector process -- Chapter 4: Curriculum planning: the human dimension -- Part III: Curriculum Development: Components of the Process -- Chapter 5: Models for curriculum development -- Chapter 6: Philosophy and aims of education -- Chapter 7: Data-driven decision making -- Chapter 8: Curriculum goals, objectives, and products -- Chapter 9: Organizing and implementing the curriculum -- Chapter 10: Instructional goals and objectives -- Chapter 11: Selecting and implementing strategies of instruction -- Chapter 12: Evaluating instruction -- Chapter 13: Evaluating the curriculum -- Part IV: Curriculum Development: Technology in Curriculum and Instruction -- Chapter 14: Digital curriculum -- Part V: Curriculum Development: Issues in Curriculum Development -- Chapter 15: Current curriculum issues -- Appendix: Resources for Further Research.
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Call Number: LB875 .D3943 1997 (2007) eBook 1 User
Publication Date: 1997
Experience and Education is the best concise statement on education ever published by John Dewey, the man acknowledged to be the pre-eminent educational theorist of the twentieth century. Written more than two decades after Democracy and Education (Dewey's most comprehensive statement of his position in educational philosophy), this book demonstrates how Dewey reformulated his ideas as a result of his intervening experience with the progressive schools and in the light of the criticisms his theories had received. Analyzing both "traditional" and "progressive" education, Dr. Dewey here insists that neither the old nor the new education is adequate and that each is miseducative because neither of them applies the principles of a carefully developed philosophy of experience. Many pages of this volume illustrate Dr. Dewey's ideas for a philosophy of experience and its relation to education. He particularly urges that all teachers and educators looking for a new movement in education should think in terms of the deeped and larger issues of education rather than in terms of some divisive "ism" about education, even such an "ism" as "progressivism." His philosophy, here expressed in its most essential, most readable form, predicates an American educational system that respects all sources of experience, on that offers a true learning situation that is both historical and social, both orderly and dynamic.
'Foundations of Education' contains the 'essential texts' widely regarded as central to the development of the foundations field. It helps aspiring teachers interpret the craft of teaching within the historical, philosophical, cultural, and social contexts of education inside and outside of schools.
For generations, schools have aimed to introduce students to a broad range of topics through curriculum that ensure that they will at least have some acquaintance with most areas of human knowledge by the time they graduate. Yet such broad knowledge can't help but be somewhat superficial--and, as Kieran Egan argues, it omits a crucial aspect of true education: deep knowledge. Real education, Egan explains, consists of both general knowledge and detailed understanding, and in Learning in Depth he outlines an ambitious yet practical plan to incorporate deep knowledge into basic education. Under Egan's program, students will follow the usual curriculum, but with one crucial addition: beginning with their first days of school and continuing until graduation, they will each also study one topic--such as apples, birds, sacred buildings, mollusks, circuses, or stars--in depth. Over the years, with the help and guidance of their supervising teacher, students will expand their understanding of their one topic and build portfolios of knowledge that grow and change along with them. By the time they graduate each student will know as much about his or her topic as almost anyone on earth--and in the process will have learned important, even life-changing lessons about the meaning of expertise, the value of dedication, and the delight of knowing something in depth. Though Egan's program may be radical in its effects, it is strikingly simple to implement--as a number of schools have already discovered--and with Learning in Depth as a blueprint, parents, educators, and administrators can instantly begin taking the first steps toward transforming our schools and fundamentally deepening their students' minds.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 217-220).
""Cover ""; ""Title Page ""; ""Copyright ""; ""Dedication""; ""Table of Contents ""; ""Acknowledgments""; ""Introduction""; ""Chapter 1: A Visit to the Cave""; ""Chapter 2: The Digital Tornado""; ""Chapter 3: The Driving Forces of Change""; ""Chapter 4: Work in the Telematic Age""; ""Chapter 5: A Cloud on the Horizon""; ""Chapter 6: New Skills For a New Era""; ""Chapter 7: Dial Locally, Work Globally""; ""Chapter 8: The New Work""; ""Chapter 9: The New School""; ""Chapter 10: A Role for Governments in the New Economy""; ""Chapter 11: The Cave Revisited""; ""References""; ""Index""
""About the Author""""About ASCD""; ""Search this Book
This classic text, originally designed to give the education student a comprehensive look at philosophical thought in relation to teaching, learning, research, and educational policy, has now been updated to reflect the most current thinking in the field. A revised chapter on Logic and Critical Thinking makes the topic more accessible to students and examines how critical thinking plays a role in light of the new Common Core standards. Philosophy of Education introduces students to the evolution of educational thought, from the founding fathers to contemporary theorists, with consideration of both analytic and continental traditions. This is an essential text not only for teachers and future teachers, but also for anyone needing a survey of contemporary trends in philosophy of education"--
Includes bibliographical references (pages 257-266) and index.
Introduction: An opportunity that comes once in a millennium / David D. Marsh -- Sect. 1. New directions for our schools-- trends and issues -- Getting to the heart of the matter : education in the 21st century / Delaine Eastin -- Education and the demands of democracy in the next millennium / Marc S. Tucker and Judy B. Codding -- Education for the public good : strategic intentions for the 21st century / Brian J. Caldwell -- Rethinking civic education for the 21st century / Todd Clark -- Diversity and education in the 21st century / Belinda Williams -- Sect. 2. Creating a new era-- educational reform for the 21st century -- The role of standards in educational reform for the 21st century / Peter W. Hill and Carmel A. Crévola -- Making better use of resources for educational reform / Allan R. Odden -- Leadership in the 21st century : using feedback to maintain focus and direction / Sherry P. King -- Life inside a school : implications for reform in the 21st century / Myranda S. Marsh -- Sect. 3. The year 2000 in schools : celebrating, synthesizing, and reflecting -- Using the year 2000 in schools : celebrating, synthesizing, and reflecting / Patricia O. Pearson.
Includes bibliographical references.
Argues against the "tougher standards" rhetoric and the current practice of teaching to standarized tests in favor of helping students become more critical, creative thinkers.
Master and use copy. Digital master created according to Benchmark for Faithful Digital Reproductions of Monographs and Serials, Version 1. Digital Library Federation, December 2002.
Electronic reproduction. [S.l.] : HathiTrust Digital Library, 2010.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 303-332) and index.
From kindergarten through high school, our public educational system is among the worst in the developed world. For over fifty years, the assumption that challenging children academically is unnatural for them, that teachers do not need to know the subjects they teach, that the learning "process" should by emphasized over the facts taught has prevailed. all this is tragically wrong. As renowned educator and author E.D. Hirsch, Jr., argues in The Schools We Need, in disdaining content-based curricula for abstract - and discredited - theories of how a child learns, the ideas uniformly taught by our schools have done terrible harm to America's students. Instead of preparing our children for the highly competitive, information-based economy in which we now live, our school practices have severely curtailed their ability, and desire, to learn. There is a solution. Mainstream research has shown that if children - all children, not just the privileged - are taught in ways that emphasize hard work, the learning of facts, and rigorous testing, their enthusiasm for school will grow, their test scores will rise, and they will become successful citizens in the information-age civilization.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 290-302) and index
This book offers easy-to-use classroom strategies for middle and high school Mathematics and Science classrooms. They demonstrate how teaching, learning, and assessment are inseparable and seamless. Each strategy will engage your students in activity and reflection, consuming little class time, costing nothing, and uniting the three dimensions of education through reflective practice. The chapters begin with a reflective teaching strategy, followed by classroom examples. Guiding icons will help you coordinate and implement each strategy. Chapters conclude with a set of learning community discussion questions to guide personal growth as well as faculty discussions.
This book offers easy-to-use classroom strategies that demonstrate how teaching, learning, and assessment are inseparable and seamless. These strategies will engage your students in activity and reflection. They consume little class time, cost nothing, and unite the three dimensions of education through reflective practice. Guiding icons will help you coordinate and implement each strategy. Chapters conclude with a set of learning community discussion questions to guide personal growth as well as faculty discussions.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 125-128)
A comparative study of the purposes of education in the twenty-first century / Fernando M. Reimers and Connie K. Chung -- Singapore's systemic approach to teaching and learning twenty-first-century competencies / Oon-Seng Tan and Ee-Ling Low -- Thinking big, acting small : lessons from twenty-first-century curriculum reform in China / Yan Wang -- Strong content, weak tools : twenty-first-century competencies in the Chilean educational reform / Cristián Bellei and Liliana Morawietz -- Curriculum reform and twenty-first-century skills in Mexico : are standards and teacher training materials aligned? / Sergio Cárdenas -- Twenty-first-century competencies, the Indian national curriculum framework, and the history of education in India / Aditya Natraj, Monal Jayaram, Jahnavi Contractor, and Payal Agrawal -- Mapping the landscape of teaching and learning for the twenty-first century in Massachusetts in the context of US educational reform / Fernando M. Reimers and Connie K. Chung -- Theorizing twenty-first-century education / Fernando M. Reimers and Connie K. Chung.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 249-277) and index.
"Theoretical Foundations of Learning Environments provides students, faculty, and instructional designers with a clear, concise introduction to the major pedagogical and psychological theories and their implications for the design of new learning environments for schools, universities, or corporations. Leading experts describe the most important contemporary theories that form the foundation of the conception and design of student-centered learning environments and new applications of educational technologies. This book is well suited as a textbook for courses in instructional design and theory, educational psychology, learning, theory, curriculum theory and design, and related areas. The rise of constructivism and its associated theories represented a paradigm shift for educators and instructional designers to a view of learning as necessarily more social, conversational, and constructive than traditional transmissive views of learning. This bestselling book was the first to provide a manageable overview of the altered field, and the second edition has been fully updated to include expert introductions to metacognition, Argumentation, and other key contemporary theories"--Provided by publisher.
Includes bibliographical references and index.