* Christian Scripture: New Testament (THEO 3210 | 6010 / 6070)

I give a short list of these, with call numbers, on pp. 7 ff. of the handout Basic English-Bible Reference.  Here I simply demonstrate how three of them might be employed to get a start on an answer to each of the assignment sheets' three sample questions.

• "Why Elijah of all people?"  Dictionary of the Old Testament:  historical books, Online and REF BS1205.55 .D53 2005 (6 pp. on Elijah, with starter bibliography listing monographs and articles):

• "How would  this have been heard by an ancient Jew for whom 'commandments' meant something in particular?"  New interpreter's dictionary of the Bible, REF BS440 .N445 (13 pp. on Law in the Old Testament, with starter bibliography listing monographs and articles):

• "What were the Jewish expectations around the title 'God's son'?"  Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, 2nd ed., Online and REF BS2555.52 .D53 2013 (9 pp. on Son of God, with starter bibliography listing monographs and articles):

• The Dictionary of New Testament background, REF BS2312 .D53 2000, and the Eerdmans dictionary of early Judaism, REF REF BM176 .E34 2010 (to single out but two more among the many fine Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias available);
• Bible background commentaries (a few of which are listed on the handout Basic English-Bible reference);
• Bible commentaries;
• Monographs (including New and Old Testament histories) and articles;
• etc. (this entire subject guide in other words!).