How to get the full-text of an article:
Note: The library discovery system lists all journals the SPU students have access to, no matter the format. At any time you can check to see if SPU has access to a title by searching from the box on the library homepage.
1. If you are already searching library databses, such as CINAHL Plus, you may use the links within the database.
Here is an example where Full-text is available from this Journal Article supplier (e.g. EBSCO or ProQuest):
In this example, click on the 'check for full-text' link to see if SPU has full text from any of our journal article suppliers:
3. Check Google Scholar to see if the full article is available for free online:
Log into Google Scholar as an SPU student to see Full-Text@SPU Library links in addition to free articles.
4. Check for online full-text from any other place you may have online database access for example:
a. If you are working in a hospital, check to see what resources are available to you as an employee. (Even hospitals without a library usually still subscribe to some online databases that include full text)
b. HEAL-WA website (access health databases provided with funds from your Washington state healthcare license fees)
c. Your local public library (May not hold many health care titles, but you may be surprised by what they do offer.)
d. If you go in-person to other area Universities you can usually download full-text articles from their databases.
5. Check to see if SPU has access to the journal title in any format:
a. Using the SPU Catalog link you can check to see if we own the title in paper or microfilm.
i. If we own the title in microfilm, use the from found on this page to request a scanned copy: http://www.spu.edu/depts/library/about_library/online_forms/microfilm.htm (turnaround time: one business day)
ii. If we own the title in paper, you will need to come into the library and make a photocopy/scan for yourself
6. If you do not have access to the article any other way:
Fill out the Interlibrary Loan request form and we will try to get a copy of the article for you. Please see the library’s interlibrary loan page for more information: http://www.spu.edu/depts/library/about_library/online_forms/ill.htm