Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TRE 2740: Introduction to Lighting and Sound

Images

Use images for inspiration!

When including images in a presentation for a school assignment, you must give the source of the image.

If the image is going into a program or poster for a production, you should get permission to use it.

Recommended methods for locating images:

Creative Commons -a  nonprofit that has established multiple types of licenses that allow people to decide how to share their work. Some of these licenses even allow for free commercial use.

Advanced Image Search - Google also provides a way to search for images with "Creative Commons" licenses. When using the can limit to the type of usage rights. You can also limit the type of site you are searching (e.g. .edu).

There are many online image collections from libraries, archives, and other institutions. One of the biggest collections is maintained by the New York Public Library You can download the images for use and they even provide the citation information!

The SPU Library is currently trying out the database, Artstor which contains millions of images. You still need to check the terms and give a citation for these images.

LIFE photo archive at Google - millions of images from LIFE magazine

Playbill Production Photos - browse this collection or do a search for a show and add production photos to your search