Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRI 1100: Illanes

Finding Articles Video

Questions for Finding Articles

After watching the video above, please answer the following questions:

1. What is one thing you learned about finding articles?

2. What questions do you still have about finding articles?

Finding Online Articles


Search with keywords from your topic in the SPU Databases for articles.

Open "Academic Search Complete"

Depending on your topic, you might want to add another database to your search.

  • Click on "Choose Databases" above the search boxes.
  • Check the box for the databases you want to add.
  • Add Fuente Académica for sources in Spanish. You can also limit your results in any database to Spanish.
  • Hit "okay" and go back to your search screen and start with a broad keyword search, putting different terms in separate boxes
  • Look on the left side of the results screen for limits
  • See if there are "subjects" or "descriptors" that can help you focus in on your topic
  • Contact me for help with choosing the right databases

 

image shows Academic Search Complete search boxes pointing out choose databses link

 Where is the actual article?

  • Full-text HTML or PDF in the database
  • Click on “Check for full-text"
  • Inter Library Loan

 

Please contact me or another librarian if you are having difficulty obtaining the full text of an article.

 

Google Scholar

Choose Google Scholar from the SPU Articles & Databases page to be connected to full text when available through the SPU Library system.

Google scholar highlighted in list of databases

search results