Skip to main content

HIS 4575 America in the 1960s: Finding Articles

Search Strategies for Primary Sources plus Citation Information for History

Places to Start

Some databases that are good for history research are:

Journals in Hard Copy

1960s-era journals on the lower level of the library:

News

Atlantic Monthly

Harper's

Life

Newsweek

Time

US News and World Report

Vital Speeches


Buiness/Politics

CQ Weekly

Forbes

Foreign Affairs

Fortune

Political Science Quarterly

Public Opinion Quarterly

Western Political Quarterly


Religion/Society

American Heritage

Christian Century

Christianity Today

Current History

Social Forces


Science

National Geographic

Science

Scientific American

Database Tools

Most databases will allow you to specify the publication date of an article. Use the date boxes to retrieve articles or items published in the 1960s:

Database Tools 1

Use the Publication Type and Document Type menus to specify a particular kind of item, such as a diary, letter, or newspaper article. The above example is from the database America: History and Life, but most databases will have similar menus below the search boxes.

The Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature

One way to find journal articles written in the 1960s is to use the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (RGPL). The RGPL is a print index; it does the same thing an online database does for articles published before the rise of the Internet. Copies of the RGPL can be found on the main level of the library, on the shelves behind the last bank of computers. The volumes are green.

To use the RGPL, find the volume that contains the date you're interested in, then search through it for a term or name, like you would search a dictionary. An example page from the RGPL is below:

RGPL

Entries in the RGPL include the article title, the journal title, the volume number, the issue number, and page numbers. Often, the journal title is abbreviated: in the above example Negro Hist Bul is Negro Historical Bulletin and Chr Today is Christianity Today.

Once you have the article information, check the lower level of the library for the journal.