This is the "Dictionaries & Encyclopedias" page of the "Reformation and Modern Christianity/Global Christian Heritage II to 1900 (cf. THEO 3302/6050)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reformation and Modern Christianity/Global Christian Heritage II to 1900 (cf. THEO 3302/6050)  

For the history of Christianity in North America, see the Subject Guide Christianity in North America (forthcoming).
Last Updated: Dec 11, 2014 URL: http://spu.libguides.com/theo/HeritageII Print Guide RSS Updates

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reformation Only

Cover Art
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation. Ed. Hillerbrand. 4 vols.
Call Number: REF BR95 302.8 .O93 1996
Publication Date: 1996

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Reformation. Ed. Ganzer & Steimer
Call Number: REF BR95 .E47 2001 v.2
ISBN: 9780824521196
Publication Date: 2004
Selected articles from the 3rd (1993-2001) edition of the Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche.

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. Ed. Hillerbrand
Call Number: REF BR302.8 .H55 2000
Publication Date: 2000

Cover Art
Westminster Handbook to Theologies of the Reformation. Ed. Holder
Call Number: REF BR305.3 .W47 2010
Publication Date: 2010


-----

Cover Art
Westminster Handbook to Martin Luther. Janz.
Call Number: REF BR333.3 .J36 2010
Publication Date: 2010

 

Reformation and Modern Both


Cover Art
New Westminster Dictionary of Church History. Ed. Benedetto. Vol. 1: The Early, Medieval, and Reformation Eras
Call Number: REF BR95 .W496 2008
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed., rev. Ed. Cross & Livingstone.
Call Number: REF BR95 .O8 2005, or online at the link above.
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
Religion Past and Present. Ed. Betz et al. 13 vols.
Call Number: REF BL31 .R4213 2007
Publication Date: 2007-2013

-----: In the subsection below, a select few on the historically European traditions:


Cover Art
Dictionary of Popes and the Papacy. Ed. Steimer & Parker.
Call Number: REF BR95 .E47 2001 v.1
Publication Date: 2001
Selected articles from the 3rd (1993-2001) edition of the Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Protestantism. Ed. Hillerbrand. 4 vols.
Call Number: REF BX4811.3 .E53 2004
Publication Date: 2004

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Lutheran Church. Ed. Bodensieck. 3 vols.
Call Number: REF BX8007 .B6
Publication Date: 1965

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Reformed Faith. Ed. McKim.
Call Number: REF BX9406 .E56 1992
Publication Date: 1992

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Methodism. Ed. Harmon. 2 vols.
Call Number: REF BX8211 .E5
Publication Date: 1974

Cover Art
Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online
An online version of the Mennonite encyclopedia (ed. Bender et al., 5 vols., REF BX8106 .M37), itself a translation of and expansion on the Mennonitisches Lexikon (ed. Hege und Neff, 4 vols., BX8106 .M4 1913).

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of Lutheranism. Ed. Gassmann.
Call Number: REF BX8007 .G37 2001
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Ed. Marthaler. 15 vols. + suppls.
Call Number: REF BX841 .N44 2003
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Papacy: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Levillain. 3 vols.
Call Number: REF BX955.3 .D5313 2002
Publication Date: 2002 [1994]


-----

Cover Art
Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity. Ed. Parry et al.
Call Number: REF BX100.7 .B53 1999
ISBN: 9780631189664
Publication Date: 1999

Cover Art
Coptic Encyclopedia. Ed. Atiya. 8 vols.
Call Number: Summit
ISBN: 9780028970257
Publication Date: 1991-


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity. Ed. McGuckin. 2 vols.
Call Number: REF BX230 .E53 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Syriac Heritage. Ed. Brock et al.
Call Number: REF BX100.7 .G46 2011
Publication Date: 2011


 

Modernity in General

 

Reformation and/or Modern(ity) in Languages Other Than English

Dizionario dell'età delle riforme, 1492-1622. Ed. Cavallotto & Mezzadri.
Publication Date: 2006

Enzyklopädie der Neuzeit. Ed. Jaeger. 16 vols.
Publication Date: 2005-2012
Covers the years 1450-1850.

Geschichtliche Grundbegriffe: historische Lexikon zur politisch-sozialen Sprache in Deutschland. Ed. Brunner, Conze, & Koselleck.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1972-1997.
Covers 1700 to the present.



Dictionnaire d'archéologie chrétienne et de liturgie. Ed. Cabrol & Leclercq. 15 vols. in 30.
Call Number: REF BR131 .C33 1924
Publication Date: 1924-1953

Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques. Ed. Baudrillart et al. 31+ vols. to date.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1912-
This is also an online database, but the database is not available in this area.

Dictionnaire de spiritualité ascétique et mystique. Ed. Viller et al. 17 vols.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1937-1995

Dictionnaire de théologie catholique. Ed. Vacant & Mangenot et al. 18 vols.
Call Number: REF BX841 .D56 1903
Publication Date: 1903-1972

Dizionario enciclopedico dell'Oriente cristiano. Ed. Farrugia.
Publication Date: 2000
A English edition of this is said to be in preparation (Brock, Introduction to Syriac studies (2006), 54).

Kleines Wörterbuch des christlichen Orients. Ed. Assfalg & Krüger.
Publication Date: 1975
Translated into French as Petit dictionnaire de l'Orient chrétien (1991).

Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche. 3rd ed. Ed. Kasper et al. 11 vols.
Publication Date: 1993-2001
Previous editions in Summit.

Petit dictionnaire de l'Orient chrétien. Ed. Assfalg & Krüger.
ISBN: 9782503500621
Publication Date: 1991 [1975]
A translation of Kleines Wörterbuch des christlichen Orients (1975).

Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart. 4th ed. Ed. Betz. 8 vols.)
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1998-2007
See Religion past and present, above.

Theologisches Realenzyklopädie. Ed. Kraus & Müller. 39 vols.
Publication Date: 1977-2007
Use the 2-vol. Gesamtregister (REF BR95 .T47 2010) to select the volume to be requested via Summit borrowing.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip