This is the "Dictionaries & Encyclopedias" page of the "Early and Medieval Christianity/Global Christian Heritage I to 1500 (cf. THEO 3301/6020)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early and Medieval Christianity/Global Christian Heritage I to 1500 (cf. THEO 3301/6020)  

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2014 URL: http://spu.libguides.com/theo/HeritageI Print Guide RSS Updates

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Early Only

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity. Ed. Di Berardino. 3 vols.
Call Number: REF BR66.5 .D5813 2014
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity. 2nd ed. Ed. Ferguson. 2 vols.
Call Number: REF BR162.2 .E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Early Church. Ed. Di Berardino. 2 vols.
Call Number: BR66.5 .D5813 1991
Publication Date: 1992
Updated by the Encyclopedia of ancient Christianity, above.

Cover Art
Westminster Handbook to Patristic Theology. McGuckin.
Call Number: REF BR162.3 .M38 2004
Publication Date: 2004


-----

Cover Art
Augustine through the Ages: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Fitzgerald.
Call Number: REF B655.Z69 A84 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Saint Augustin, la Méditerranée et l'Europe IVe-XXIe siècle, ed. Fitzgerald, Vannier, & Lancel (2005), is an updated version of this, "with added new material drawn from the Spanish version (2001) and the forthcoming Italian version” (WorldCat).

Cover Art
Brill Dictionary of Gregory of Nyssa. Ed. Mateo-Seco & Maspero.
Call Number: REF BR65.G76 D5313 2010
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Westminster Handbook to Origen. McGuckin.
Call Number: REF BR65.O68 W46 2004
Publication Date: 2004

 

Medieval Only

Cover Art
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Ed. Bjork. 4 vols.
Call Number: University of Washington Suzzallo REF D114 .O94 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-29

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Ed. Vauchez. 2 vols.
Call Number: REF D114 .E53 2000
Publication Date: 2000

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Ed. Strayer. 13 vols.
Call Number: REF D114 .D5 1982
Publication Date: 1982


-----

Cover Art
Medieval England. Ed. Szarmach, Tavormina, & Rosenthal.
Call Number: REF DA129 .M43 1998
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
Medieval France. Ed Kibler et al.
Call Number: Online at the link above
Publication Date: 1995

Cover Art
Medieval Germany: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Jeep.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
Medieval Iberia: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Gerli.
Call Number: REF DP99 .M33 2003
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Medieval Ireland: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Duffy.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2004

Cover Art
Medieval Italy: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Kleinhenz.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Medieval Scandinavia: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Pulsiano.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1993

Cover Art
Key Figures in Medieval Europe: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Emmerson.
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Glick, Livesy, & Wallis.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Friedman & Figg.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2000

Cover Art
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Schaus.
Call Number: Summit
ISBN: 9780415969444
Publication Date: 2006


-----

Cover Art
Companion to Philosophy in the Middle Ages. Ed. Gracia & Noone.
Call Number: REF B721 .C54 2003
ISBN: 0631216731
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage. Ed. Taylor et al.
Call Number: REF BX2320.5.E85 E53 2010
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Westminster Handbook to Medieval Theology. Ginther.
Call Number: REF BT26 .G56 2009
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Westminster Handbook to Thomas Aquinas. Wawrykow.
Call Number: REF B765 .T54W26 2005
ISBN: 0664224695
Publication Date: 2005

 

Early and Medieval Both


Cover Art
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed., rev. Ed. Cross & Livingstone.
Call Number: REF BR95 .O8 2005, or online at the link above.
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Ed. Marthaler. 15 vols. + suppls.
Call Number: REF BX841 .N44 2003
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Christianity. Ed. Fahlbusch et al. 5 vols.
Call Number: REF BR95 .E8913 1999
ISBN: 9004113169
Publication Date: 1999-2008

Cover Art
Religion Past and Present. Ed. Betz et al. 13 vols.
Call Number: REF BL31 .R4213 2007
Publication Date: 2007-2013

Cover Art
New Westminster Dictionary of Church History. Ed. Benedetto. Vol. 1: The Early, Medieval, and Reformation Eras
Call Number: REF BR95 .W496 2008
Publication Date: 2008


-----

Cover Art
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. Ed. Kazhdan. 3 vols.
Call Number: REF DF521 .O93 1991
Publication Date: 1991

Cover Art
Coptic Encyclopedia. Ed. Atiya. 8 vols.
Call Number: Summit
ISBN: 9780028970257
Publication Date: 1991-

Cover Art
Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity. Ed. Parry et al.
Call Number: REF BX100.7 .B53 1999
ISBN: 9780631189664
Publication Date: 1999

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity. Ed. McGuckin. 2 vols.
Call Number: REF BX230 .E53 2011
Publication Date: 2011


Cover Art
Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Syriac Heritage. Ed. Brock et al.
Call Number: REF BX100.7 .G46 2011
Publication Date: 2011


-----

Cover Art
Papacy: an Encyclopedia. Ed. Levillain. 3 vols.
Call Number: REF BX955.3 .D5313 2002
Publication Date: 2002 [1994]

Cover Art
Dictionary of Popes and the Papacy. Ed. Steimer & Parker.
Call Number: REF BR95 .E47 2001 v.1
Publication Date: 2001
Selected articles from the 3rd (1993-2001) edition of the Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche.


 

Early and/or Medieval in Languages Other Than English


Augustinus-Lexikon. Ed. Mayer. 3+ vols. to date.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1986- .


-----

Lexikon des Mittelalters. Ed. Auty et al. 10 vols.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1977-1999

Dictionnaire du moyen age. 2nd ed. Ed. Gauvard, Libera, & Zink.
Publication Date: 2004

Dictionnaire raisonné de l'Occident médiéval. Ed. Le Goff & Schmitt.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 2004


-----

Dictionnaire d'archéologie chrétienne et de liturgie. Ed. Cabrol & Leclercq. 15 vols. in 30.
Call Number: REF BR131 .C33 1924
Publication Date: 1924-1953

Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques. Ed. Baudrillart et al. 31+ vols. to date.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1912-
This is also an online database, but the database is not available in this area.

Dictionnaire de spiritualité ascétique et mystique. Ed. Viller et al. 17 vols.
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1937-1995

Dictionnaire de théologie catholique. Ed. Vacant & Mangenot et al. 18 vols.
Call Number: REF BX841 .D56 1903
Publication Date: 1903-1972

Dizionario enciclopedico dell'Oriente cristiano. Ed. Farrugia.
Publication Date: 2000
A English edition of this is said to be in preparation (Brock, Introduction to Syriac studies (2006), 54).

Kleines Wörterbuch des christlichen Orients. Ed. Assfalg & Krüger.
Publication Date: 1975
Translated into French as Petit dictionnaire de l'Orient chrétien (1991).

Lexikon für Theologie und Kirche. 3rd ed. Ed. Kasper et al. 11 vols.
Publication Date: 1993-2001
Previous editions in Summit.

Petit dictionnaire de l'Orient chrétien. Ed. Assfalg & Krüger.
ISBN: 9782503500621
Publication Date: 1991 [1975]
A translation of Kleines Wörterbuch des christlichen Orients (1975).

Reallexikon der germanischen Altertumskunde. 2nd ed. Ed. Jankuhn et al. 37 vols.
Call Number: DD51 .R42 1973
Publication Date: 1968-2007

Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart. 4th ed. Ed. Betz. 8 vols.)
Call Number: Summit
Publication Date: 1998-2007
See Religion past and present, above.

Theologisches Realenzyklopädie. Ed. Kraus & Müller. 39 vols.
Publication Date: 1977-2007
Use the 2-vol. Gesamtregister (REF BR95 .T47 2010) to select the volume to be requested via Summit borrowing.

 

Late Antiquity

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip