Skip to main content

> Philosophy: Philosophers

Introduction

This page is a work in progress.  It will be filled in from offline files, filled out with the findings of further research, and updated on an as-needed or as-discovered basis only.  Once enough information on a given philosopher (the term is here interpreted very broadly) has been assembled to justify a spin-off, this page will simply link out to the guide spun off.

Template for each of the entries below (also in progress):

Portals

Handbooks

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Bibliographies of printed editions

Critical editions

Works online

Manuscripts online

Translations

Concordances

Lexica

Indices

Quotations

Commentary

Non-serial bibliographies

Serial bibliographies

Journals

Libraries & archives

Centers, institutes, etc.

Associations, societies, etc.

 For a list of the Personal Pages of contemporary philosophers, see PhilPapers.

Aristotle

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Translations

Commentary

Serial bibliographies

  • International Aristotle Bibliography Online (Brill).

Augustine

Companions, Handbooks, Manuals, etc.

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

  • Augustine through the ages:  an encyclopedia.  Ed. Fitzgerald.  Eerdmans, 1999.  REF .  Cf. Saint Augustin, la Méditerranée et l'Europe IVe-XXIe siècle.  Ed. Fitzgerald, Vannier, & Lancel.  Cerf, 2005.  “A French version of the 1999 English-language publication Augustine through the ages, with added new material drawn from the Spanish version (2001) and the forthcoming Italian version” (WorldCat).
  • Augustinus-Lexikon.  Ed. Mayer, Feldmann, Dodaro, & Müller.  Schwabe AG, 1986- .  University of Washington Suzallo-Allen Libraries .  From the Zentrum für Augustinusforschung im Würzburg:

Translations

Indices

  • Corpus Augustinianum Gissense (CAG), a version of which is available also via Past Masters, and which is said to be superior to even the Library of Latin Texts for Augustine studies, includes an index to biblical quotations, by passage.  Here is a shot of that index as it appears in the Demo version.  How reliably these abbreviations would work in a straightforward full-text search in the version of CAG in Past Masters isn't entirely clear:

 

Serial bibliographies

Centers, institutes, etc.

Bacon, Francis

Bentham

Portals

Berkeley

Serial bibliographies

Associations, societies, etc.

Berlin

Boethius

Associations, societies, etc.

Descartes

Serial bibliographies

Works online

Dooyeweerd

Serial bibliographies

Centers, institutes, etc.

Franklin

Works online

Hegel

Serial bibliographies

Heidegger

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Concordances

  • Jaran & Perrin.  Heidegger concordance.  3 vols.  Bloomsbury, 2013.

Serial bibliographies

  • Themed?  Annually in the Heidegger Jahrbuch.

Hobbes

Serial bibliographies

Journals

Associations, societies, etc.

Hume

Works online

Serial bibliographies

Associations, societies, etc.

Jefferson

Kant

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

  • Caygill.  Kant dictionary.  Blackwell philosopher dictionaries.  1995.  B2751 .C38 1995, and online.
  • Thorpe.  Kant dictionary.  Bloomsbury philosopher dictionaries.  2014.

Serial bibliographies

Kierkegaard

Works online

Libraries & archives

Leibniz

Critical editions

Manuscripts online

Translations

Indices

Non-serial bibliographies

  • Leibniz-Bibliographie.  Bd. 1:  Die Literatur über Leibniz bis 1980.  Ed. Heinekamp.  2nd ed.  1984.  Summit.
  • Leibniz-Bibliographie.  Bd. 2:  Die Literatur über Leibniz 1981-1990.  Ed. Heinekamp.  1996.  Summit.

Serial bibliographies

  • Leibniz-Bibliographie (Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Bibliothek).
  • "Leibniz-Bibliographie" (now defunct).  Annually (?) in the journal Studia Leibnitiana, vols. 1 – 31 (1969 – 1999).

Libraries & archives

Associations, societies, etc.

Lessing

Portals

Levinas

Portals

Serial bibliographies

Locke

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

  • Yolton.  John Locke dictionary.  Blackwell philosopher dictionaries.  1993.  B1297 .Y64 1993.

Works online

Serial bibliographies

  • John Locke Bibliography.
  • "Recent publications on Locke."  Annually in the journal Locke studies (formerly Locke newsletter).   University of Washington Suzzallo-Allen Stacks B1250 .L66.

Montaigne

Works online

Montesquieu

Portals

Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Journals

​Associations, societies, etc.

Newton

Works online

Manuscripts

Nietzsche

Works online

  • Digitale Kritische Gesamtausgabe Werke und Briefe (eKGWB).  "the digital version of the German reference edition of Nietzsche’s works, posthumous fragments, and correspondence edited by Giorgio Colli and Mazzino Montinari (Friedrich Nietzsche, Werke. Kritische Gesamtausgabe, Berlin/New York, de Gruyter, 1967– and Nietzsche Briefwechsel. Kritische Gesamtausgabe, Berlin/New York, de Gruyter, 1975–). The eKGWB is edited by Paolo D’Iorio and published by Nietzsche Source."

Spinoza

Portals

Thomas Aquinas

Guides to research

Handbooks

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Critical editions

Works online

Translations

Concordances

Lexica

Indices

Serial bibliographies

Centers, institutes, etc.

Voltaire

Works online