This is the "Get Started" page of the "ECN 3810 Development Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ECN 3810 Development Economics  

Last Updated: Mar 18, 2015 URL: http://spu.libguides.com/ecn3810 Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

II. Annotated Bibliography

 

What is an Annotated Bibliography? http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/

Annotated Bibliography Requirements:

  • Minimum of ten (10) sources on your topic (This does not necessarily mean that each of these will make it into your research proposal—use discernment at this stage to save work/time later)
  • Sources must be peer-reviewed (see me for approval if you have found an important, relevant source that is not peer-reviewed—make a case for its inclusion)
  • APA style citation, with
  • summary (what did the source contribute to the knowledge?)
  • critical analysis (assess and reflect)
 

Finding Articles (9:14)

This screen cast covers:

  • finding the ECN 2101 subject guide
  • thinking about what resource (which database) to use
  • model a search in Business Source Complete
  • using keywords and subject terms
  • how to find subject terms
  • finding peer reviewed articles
  • how to results in a Business Source Complete search using the Publication limiter
  • how to find full text

Research Steps

1. Identify your research proposal topic.

  • state your research proposal as a question
  • find some background information on your topic
  • identify main concepts and/or keywords in your research proposal statement

2. What type of resources do you need to use for your research proposal?

  • generate a list of types of resesources
  • generate a list of where you would go to find these types of resources

3. Find periodical articles using keywords in databases searches.

  • periodicals are continuous publications such as newspapers, academic journals, magazines, etc.

4. Use unique keywords to find books on your topic in the library's discovery search engine

5. Find statistics using free Internet sources.

6. Evaluate your resources.

7. Cite your sources using APA.

 

Reference

     

    Journals

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip