The following resources are helpful for citing in Chicago Style:
Andrea A. Lunsford, Paul K. Matsuda, and Christine M. Tardy. The Everyday Writer with Exercises. 6th ed. Boston, MA: Bedford/St. Martin's, 2016.
Booth, Wayne C. et al., eds. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. 9th ed. Chicago, IL: The University of Chicago Press, 2018.
Harper, Russell David, ed. The Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2017.In-text citations in Chicago Style take the form of footnotes, as shown below:
Note that:
- A footnote can contain multiple citations
- Footnote citations differ slightly from Bibliography citations (see box below)
An example of a Chicago Style Bibliography is below:
Note that:
- Citations are organized alphabetically by author's last name
- Bibliography citations are formatted slightly differently than footnote citations (see box above)
Items from an archives are cited slightly differently than books, journal articles, or web pages. Instructions for how to cite archival material appear in the Chicago Manual of Style under the heading "Manuscript Collections" in section 14.232. Some examples are below:
Notes
Item title, Date, Collection title, Box number, Folder number, Repository name, City name.
Executive Committee Meeting Minutes, April 1968, Board of Trustees Records, Box 55, Folder 12, Seattle Pacific University Archives, Seattle.
Memorandum, "Prayer for Dr. King," 6 April 1968, President's Office Collection, Cascade College Archives, Portland, OR.
Bibliography
Name of collection. Repository name.
Board of Trustees Records. Seattle Pacific University Archives, Seattle.
President's Office Collection, Cascade College Archives, Portland, OR.
Be consistent in how you render dates, item titles, and collection names. Locations of well-known repositories (Princeton University, National Archives) may be omitted.
For more examples, consult this Purdue University guide - scroll to the bottom of the page.
