Skip to main content

WRI 1100: Reinsma: Paraphrasing and Citing : MLA

Book Reviews

FROM COLUMBIA COLLEGE, VANCOUVER BC

If the book review does not have a title:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Review of Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, by Book Author's First Name Last Name, Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database. doi: DOI Number if Given.

 Note: If the book review is from a source other than an article in the library's database, view the appropriate section on the MLA guide to determine how to cite the source after the name of the book's author.

Works Cited List Example  

 Khovanova, Tanya. Review of Love and Math: The Heart of Hidden Reality, by Edward Frenkel. The College Mathematics Journal, vol. 45, no. 3, May 2014, pp. 230-231. JSTOR. doi: www.jstor.org/stable/10.4169/college.math.j.45.3.230.

In-Text Citation Example

 (Author's Last Name Page Number)

 Example: (Khovanova 230)

Learn more: See the MLA Handbook, pp. 28-29

 

If the book review does have a title:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Review." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database. doi: DOI Number if Given.

 Note: If the book review is from a source other than an article in the library's database, view the appropriate section on the MLA guide to determine how to cite the source.

Works Cited List Example  

 Grosholz, Emily R. "Book Review: Realizing Reason: A Narrative of Truth and Knowledge by Danielle Macbeth." Journal of Humanistic Mathematics, vol. 7, no. 1, Jan. 2017, pp. 263-275, Academic Search Complete. doi: 10.5642/jhummath.20170120.

In-Text Citation Example

 (Author's Last Name Page Number)

 Example: (Grosholz 264)

Learn more: See the MLA Handbook, pp. 28-29

Paraphrasing

Excerpt from a document created by the University of Wisconsin - Madison which takes you through  the process of creating an acceptable paraphrase.

 

Videos:

"Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quoting" (1:56)

"Quoting vs Paraphrasing - APA Style" (3:07)

MLA 8th Edition

The 8th edition of MLA style approaches the construction of citations in a new way. Here is the description of the new process from the Purdue OWL MLA site:

When deciding how to cite your source, start by consulting the list of core elements. These are the general pieces of information that MLA suggests including in each Works Cited entry. In your citation, the elements should be listed in the following order:

  1. Author.

  2. Title of source.

  3. Title of container,

  4. Other contributors,

  5. Version,

  6. Number,

  7. Publisher,

  8. Publication date,

  9. Location.

Each element should be followed by the punctuation mark shown here. Earlier editions of the handbook included the place of publication, and required punctuation such as journal editions in parentheses, and colons after issue numbers. In the current version, punctuation is simpler (just commas and periods separate the elements), and information about the source is kept to the basics.

Basic MLA Citation Style

1. "When & How to Cite" Video from the SPU Library (2:50)

2. Basic Rules for In-Text Citations from Purdue OWL

3. Example of MLA Paper from Purdue OWL

4. Format for Works Cited List

Books

Basic Format:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

 

One author:

McEvoy, Sean. Theatrical Unrest : Nine Riots in the History of the Stage 1601-2004. Routledge, 2016.

 

Two authors:

 Frost, Anthony, and Ralph Yarrow. Improvisation in Drama, Theatre, and Performance. Palgrave, 2016.

 

Three or more authors:

Kaye, Deena, et al.Sound and Music for the Theatre. Focal P, 2016.

 

Book with one editor:

 Eldridge, Richard, editor. The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Literature. Oxford UP, 2009.

 

Book with two editors:

Bull, Michael, and Les Back, editors. The Auditory Culture Reader. 2nd ed. Bloomsbury Academic, 2016.

 

Book with three or more editors:

Newburger, Harriet, et al., editors.. Neighborhood and Life Chances: How

   Place Matters in Modern America. U of Pennsylvania P, 2011.

 

Articles (see bottom of page for various newspaper examples)

Magazine

Basic Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.

Shook, John. "With Liberty & Justice for All." Humanist,  Jan/Feb 2013, pp. 21-24.

 

 

Scholarly Journal

Basic Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.

 

Todd, Nathan R., et al. "Preliminary Validation of The Sanctification of Social Justice Scale." Psychology of  Religion and Spirituality, vol. 6, no. 3, 2014, pp. 245-256.

 

From an Online Database such as Academic Search Premier

Richardson, Jayson W, and Nicholas J Sauers. "Social Justice in India: Perspectives from School Leaders in Diverse Contexts." Management in Education, vol. 28, no. 3, 2014, pp. 106-109. Academic Search Premier, doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/0892020614535799.

 

Websites

Entire site

Basic Format: Editor, author, or compiler name (if available). Name of Site. Version number, Name of institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher), date of resource creation (if available), URL, DOI or permalink. Date of access (if applicable).

The Purdue OWL Family of Sites. The Writing Lab and OWL at Purdue and Purdue U, 2008, owl.english.purdue.edu/owl. Accessed 23 Apr. 2008.

 

A Page on a Website

McCarthy, Gina. "Climate Week - It's Time for Action." EPA Connect. Environmental Protection Agency, 22 Sept. 2014. https://blog.epa.gov/blog/2014/09/climate-week-its-time-for-action/. Accessed 26 Sept. 2014.

 

For more examples, see the Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide