Skip to main content

WRI 1100: Hansen: Books & Articles

Finding Books

Search with keywords from your topic in the SPU Catalog for books

 catalog search box with Frankenstein typed in

You will also be searching our consortium catalog (Summit) -- books that you request (for free!) through Summit will arrive at SPU in 3-5 business days.

In the results list, you will see print books, eBooks, and DVDs at SPU plus additional items that you can request from other libraries (these will say "Check Holdings")

image of seach results with item type and availability highlighted

Once you find something relevant, click on the title for more information. You can then see the subjects, a description, and the table of contents. All this information can help you decide whether the book is relevant and whether you need the entire book or just a chapter.

image shows details for book on Frankenstein

 

Finding Articles


Search with keywords from your topic in the SPU Databases for articles.

Open "Academic Search Complete"

Depending on your topic, you might want to add another database to your search.

    • Click on "Choose Databases" above the search boxes.
    • Check the box for the databases you want to add.
       You may consider Education Source, Communication Source, MLA Bibliography, Humanities Abstracts, and/or PsycINFO depending on your topic.
    • Hit "okay" and go back to your search screen and start with a broad keyword search, putting different terms in separate boxes
    • Look on the left side of the results screen for limits
    • See if there are "subjects" or "descriptors" that can help you focus in on your topic
    • Contact me for help with choosing the right databases

 

image shows ebsco search boxes with arrow pointint to choose databases

 

You should also try ProQuest. On the databases page, choose "Research Library Complete." It will open 22 databases. You can deselect ones that are irrelevant.

 

 

Where is the actual article?

  • Full-text HTML or PDF in the database
  • Click on “Check for full-text”
  • In print or on microfilm at the SPU Library (“SPU holds this title”)
  • University of Washington
  • Inter Library Loan

Please contact me or another librarian if you are having difficulty obtaining the full text of an article.

Google Scholar

Choose Google Scholar from the SPU Articles & Databases page to be connected to full text when available through the SPU Library system.

image shows search result in Google scholar with full text at S P U link highlighted