This education-resource database includes some full-text documents and the ERIC thesaurus, and it allows users to search PsycInfo simultaneously, limit results to SPU holdings, and link to ILL services.
provides scholarly research and information for education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers education specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. There is full text for more than 2,000 journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 3,600 journals. Full text for more than 530 books and monographs. Full text for more than 2,300 education-related conference papers. Coverage dating back to 1880.
This comprehensive research-based psychology database is produced by the American Psychological Association and indexes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations from 1887 to the present. It focuses on peer-reviewed literature in behavior science and mental health.
offers digitized versions of core scholarly journals in many disciplines.
Research STEP 4: Decide which database to use for articles and keyword searches
Get out your list of types of resources and your arsenal of keywords from Research Step 2
use 1 or two of your descriptive keywords or keyword phrases to search for articles.
the picture below shows an example of an advanced search in the ERIC database.
when searching in databases, you cannot type in a whole sentence. Use descriptive keywords or phrases that reflect the content of your research.
Note I put the 2 phrases on 2 different lines. This is called Boolean searching, which is a logical way to search. The search below is asking the search engine to return every article that has phrase "digital devices" AND the phrase "reading" in it.
Boolean operators are:
AND - limits your search to those items all the terms in it
OR - expands your search to those items with either of the terms in it. This usually returns A LOT of items, sometimes too many.
NOT - limits your search to those items with your terms but not another term
" " marks asks the search engine to keep your terms together. For example, "digital devices."
* using an asterisk is called truncation - asks the search engine to give you items with all forms of a word. For example, typing the wordteach* (the * goes at the end of the route of the word) asks the search engine to return items with all forms of the word teach, such as, teacher, teaching, teach, teaches.
VIDEOS on Finding quality articles in databases 10-12 minutes each
Learning outcomes: by the end of these 2 screencasts, you will:
know how to find education focused subject guides
apply database search strategies modeled to:
narrow your search
perform concept searches versus keyword searches
search in a more sophisticated manner
be able to identify quality academic articles
know the steps to finding the full text of an article