Articles - UCOL 1000: Huff - Peace and Conflict Resolution - Subject Guides at Seattle Pacific University

General databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Its coverage ranges back as far as 1887 for some titles.
Atla Religion Database & AtlaSerials
This database, produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journals and essay collections in religion, with links to full text. Its coverage extends from 1949 to the present, with some retrospective indexing underway.

Education Source
provides scholarly research and information for education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers education specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. There is full text for more than 2,000 journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 3,600 journals. Full text for more than 530 books and monographs. Full text for more than 2,300 education-related conference papers. Coverage dating back to 1880.
ERIC via EBSCOHost
This education-resource database includes some full-text documents and the ERIC thesaurus, and it allows users to search PsycInfo simultaneously, limit results to SPU holdings, and link to ILL services.
Google Scholar
This search engine searches for scholarly research across many disciplines and sources. By starting your Google search from the SPU pages, the results will link to SPU-owned full-text.
JSTOR
offers digitized versions of core scholarly journals in many disciplines.
APA PsycInfo
This comprehensive research-based psychology database is produced by the American Psychological Association and indexes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations from 1887 to the present. It focuses on peer-reviewed literature in behavior science and mental health.

For effective searching it is important to understand the difference between Keyword searching and Subject Term searching in databases.

Keyword searching asks the search engine to look for every article that has the keywords in it, so an article may, or may not, be on the subject you are interested in researching.
Controlled Vocabulary searching (using Descriptors or Subjects) asks the search engine to look for every article that is related to the concept represented by the Controlled Vocabulary you are using.

Learning outcomes: by the end of these 2 screencasts, you will: