Skip to main content

FCS 3240: Ind. & Fam. Development

 

Developing a Search Strategy

Identify Places to Search

Search for Books in the SPU Catalog 

catalog search box with meat and environment typed in

 

When you get your results, click on an item's title to get more information about it and how to obtain it.

Items that say "check holdings" may be requested from Summit, our consortium.

Add "opposing viewpoints" or "taking sides" to your keyword search to see if we have any books in these series which specifically address the pros and cons of many popular debate topics.

 

Search for Articles in the SPU Databases

The databases contain millions of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.

The SPU Library pays for you to get access to these materials.

Appropriate multidisciplinary databases:

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Research Library Complete

Also, there are over 100 subject specific databases, including:

  • PsycINFO (Psychology)
  • MEDLINE (Health Sciences)
  • ERIC (Education)
  • Communication Source
  • Computer Source

You can search multiple databases at the same time. Open up one and then look for the link to add more.

Academic Search Complete search boxes

 

Obtaining the Full Text of an Article:

  • Full text HTML or PDF in the database
  • Full text in another database; click on "Check for full text" or "Linked full text"
  • In print (or on microfilm) at the SPU Library: "SPU holds this title"
  • Inter Library Loan or University of Washington