Skip to main content

Clinical Psychology: Find Journal Articles

Where's the Full Text?

Can't find the full text of an article?

  • Search Primo by journal title (e.g. JAMA) to see if we have access to the journal in print, in a database, or on microfilm. Use the View It tab to see which database the journal is in, or the Get It tab to see what dates we have covered in hard copy.
  • Try the journal's website or Google Scholar.  Sometimes articles are available free online.
  • If you need immediate access, visit another library in Seattle where you can access the journal. Check their catalog first to verify access.
  • If you still can't find it, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article be sent from another library. (1-2 weeks)

Learn more...

Search for Articles

Step 1:  Start your search for scholarly articles in an article database such as PsycINFO.  

Step 2:  Search for one or more of the terms from your topic (e.g. boundary violations and dual relationships).  Separate the concepts using AND (to find articles with all terms) or OR (to find articles with either term). 

PsycINFO search for boundary violations and dual relationships

Step 3:  Check the box for Peer Reviewed on the left under Refine your results and click the Update button.

PsycINFO limiter option of Peer Reviewed

Step 4:  On the left under Subject, browse and check boxes for terms related to your topic and Update.  Some related terms here are professional ethics and dual relationships.  

PsycINFO limiter option of Subject: Major Heading

  • Or browse the results looking for related subject term that can focus your search.  
  • Using an asterisk (*) will truncate the ending of a word and search for all variations.  For example, a search for boundar* will return articles for boundary and boundaries.
  • You may need to combine a few subject or keyword terms to search for your topic.

 

Step 5: Click the title of the article to skim the abstract and save/email/print articles you find helpful.  Or create a personal account in the database and add article to a folder to save for later use.

              Then search again using new subject terms or keywords you've found.

Search for a specific article

There are two main ways to search for access to a specific article (other than using the "check for full text" link within a database) - searching SPU Primo by journal title or Google Scholar by article title.  For other options to access the full-text, see Finding the Full Text.

Search SPU Primo by journal title:

Step 1: Type in the journal title in the SPU Primo search box and click search.

SPU Primo search for Child Development

Step 2: Scan the result list for the journal.  There may be more than one record if we have access in print or microfilm as well as online.

SPU Primo results for Child Development

Step 3: Click Online Access for full text or click Check Holdings or the journal title to verify that the year of the article you need is available through the database options.  In this case, the most recent year is not available online.

If there is no online access, click on Get It to view print holdings and access the article on the lower level of the library. 

Primo Child Development journal full record

Step 4: Choose a database with access.  Then either browse by issue or search within the publication to find the article you need.

Ebsco results for publication Child Development

Search Google Scholar by article title:

This option can be faster, as long as all the links work correctly.  Make sure you are either searching from on-campus or using the link above so that it links to SPU databases.

Step 1: Copy and paste the article title into the Google Scholar search box and click search.

Google Scholar article search

Step 2: If SPU has access, there will be a link on the right side.  There may be access to the article in other ways as well.

Google Scholar article search results showing Full Text @ SPU link on right

Step 3: After clicking on Full-Text@SPU Library, select any one of the options listed to access the full article.