Subject Guides: Education Subject Guide: Articles

VIDEOS on Finding quality articles in databases 10-12 minutes each

Learning outcomes: by the end of these 2 screencasts, you will:

know how to find education focused subject guides
apply database search strategies modeled to:
- narrow your search
- perform concept searches versus keyword searches
- search in a more sophisticated manner
- be able to identify quality academic articles
- know the steps to finding the full text of an article

Keywords versus subject terms

For effective searching, it is important to understand the difference between Keyword searching and Subject Term searching in databases.

Keyword searching asks the search engine to look for every article that has the keywords in it, so an article may, ore may not, be on the subject you are interested in researching.
Subject Term searching (using Descriptors or subject terms) asks the search engine to look for every article that is on the concept represented by the subject term you are using.

Core Education Database List

ERIC via EBSCOHost
This education-resource database includes some full-text documents and the ERIC thesaurus, and it allows users to search PsycInfo simultaneously, limit results to SPU holdings, and link to ILL services.
Education Source
provides scholarly research and information for education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers education specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. There is full text for more than 2,000 journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 3,600 journals. Full text for more than 530 books and monographs. Full text for more than 2,300 education-related conference papers. Coverage dating back to 1880.
APA PsycInfo
Use for educational psychology, curriculum and instruction, Educational Administration & Personnel, classroom management, gifted & talented, and school counseling.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database covers research on education, such as educational psychology and special education.
JSTOR
offers digitized versions of core scholarly journals in many disciplines
Mometrix NES/GRE Study Guides
The Mometrix eLibrary provides online access to study guides for the NES (National Evaluation Series),WEST-B, WEST-E, GRE and GRE Psychology tests.

Education Week
What Works Clearinghouse (WWC)
The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education. Our goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions. We focus on the results from high-quality research to answer the question “What works in education?” Find more information

ERIC via the ERIC Web Portal
This education-resource database--available without a subscription--includes some full-text documents and the ERIC thesaurus.

Other databases and search engines

Google Scholar
This search engine searches for scholarly research across many disciplines and sources. By starting your Google search from the SPU pages, the results will link to SPU-owned full-text.
APA PsycTests
Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration
Atla Religion Database & AtlaSerials
This database, produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journals and essay collections in religion, with links to full text. Its coverage extends from 1949 to the present, with some retrospective indexing underway.
Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print Internacional
contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas
Mometrix NES/GRE Study Guides
The Mometrix eLibrary provides online access to study guides for the NES (National Evaluation Series),WEST-B, WEST-E, GRE and GRE Psychology tests.
Professional Development Collection
This comprehensive, full-text database provides nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles, and also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
offers 300-plus full-text journals, covering world religions, denominations, biblical studies, history of philosophy & religion, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, and moral philosophy.
Teacher Reference Center
provides indexing and abstracts for 280 popular journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Communication Source
developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.