Skip to main content

CPY 7400: Ethics & Law in Clinical Psychology: Find Journal Articles

Article Databases

Where's the Full Text?

Can't find the full text of an article?

  • Search Primo by journal title (e.g. JAMA) to see if we have access to the journal in print, in a database, or on microfilm. Use the View It tab to see which database the journal is in, or the Get It tab to see what dates we have covered in hard copy.
  • Try the journal's website or Google Scholar.  Sometimes articles are available free online.
  • If you need immediate access, visit another library in Seattle where you can access the journal. Check their catalog first to verify access.
  • If you still can't find it, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article be sent from another library. (1-2 weeks)

Learn more...

Search for Articles

Step 1:  Start your search for scholarly articles in an article database such as PsycINFO.  

Step 2:  Search for one or more of the terms from your topic (e.g. boundary violations and dual relationships).  Separate the concepts using AND (to find articles with all terms) or OR (to find articles with either term). 

PsycINFO search for boundary violations and dual relationships

Step 3:  Check the box for Peer Reviewed on the left under Refine your results and click the Update button.

PsycINFO limiter option of Peer Reviewed

Step 4:  On the left under Subject, browse and check boxes for terms related to your topic and Update.  Some related terms here are professional ethics and dual relationships.  

PsycINFO limiter option of Subject: Major Heading

  • Or browse the results looking for related subject term that can focus your search.  
  • Using an asterisk (*) will truncate the ending of a word and search for all variations.  For example, a search for boundar* will return articles for boundary and boundaries.
  • You may need to combine a few subject or keyword terms to search for your topic.

 

Step 5: Click the title of the article to skim the abstract and save/email/print articles you find helpful.  Or create a personal account in the database and add article to a folder to save for later use.

              Then search again using new subject terms or keywords you've found.

Set up your Ebsco account

Set up your Ebsco account to save articles in folders across all Ebsco databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete).

  1. Open an Ebsco database, such as Academic Search Premier (list of all SPU databases)
  2. Choose Sign In at the top of the screen. An Ebsco database search box with Sign In link circled at top of page
  3. Click on Create a new Account to set up your personalized Ebsco account (not your SPU username and password).My Ebscohost sign in page with option to sign in or Create a new account
  4. Fill out the short form to create a new account. 
  5. Remember to always sign in when adding articles to folders or they will not be saved! Example article description with folder circled on right side of article title

Set up your ProQuest account

Set up your ProQuest account to save articles in folders across all ProQuest databases (e.g. Research Library Complete, ProQuest Psychology Journals). 

  1. Open a ProQuest database, such as Research Library Complete (list of all SPU databases).
  2. At the top, mouse over the icon of a person to go to My Research and choose Sign in to My ResearchA ProQuest database search page with My Research and sign into my research links circled
  3. Click on Create a My Research account to set up your personalized account (not connected to your SPU credentials). ProQuest sign in page with Create a My Research account circled
  4. Fill out the short form to create a new account or use an existing RefWorks account if you have one.
  5. Remember to always sign in when adding selected items to your account or they will not be saved! 
  6. Choose Add to Selected Items from within an article's record. An example article page with check box for Add to Selected Items circled
  7. Click on the folder icon at the top to see all selected items, and choose Save to My Research to save them for later. ProQuest example search result with Save to My Research link circled