Skip to main content

EDCO 6670 Introduction to School Counseling: Articles

Education Database List

Other databases and search engines

Keywords versus subject terms

For effective searching it is important to understand the difference between Keyword searching and Subject Term searching in databases.

  • Keyword searching asks the search engine to look for every article that has the keywords in it, so an article may, or may not, be on the subject you are interested in researching.
  • Controlled Vocabulary searching (using Descriptors or Subjects) asks the search engine to look for every article that is related to the concept represented by the Controlled Vocabulary you are using.

Steps for effective/focused searching in ERIC

Use the ERIC database to find articles.

Step 1. Search by typing a few unique keywords into the first search box. For example, classroom guidance

Key Word Search

Step 2. On the results page, click on the Peer Reviewed on the left under "Refine your results" and click the Update button. Read the article titles to find a "pearl of an article" and click on the hyperlinked title to read the abstract.

Refine with Peer Reviewed

Step 3. After clicking on the hyperlinked title of a "pearl of an article," note the list of Descriptors above the abstract. Using these terms will return more focused results. For example, try a search using the descriptor term guidance and select SU Descriptors in the drop down box at the top.  Add the term school counselors and select SU Descriptors from the drop down menu. Don't forget to make sure the Peer Reviewed box is checked, as well.

Descriptors

Subject Descriptors Search

Steps for effective/focused searching in PsycINFO

Use the PsycINFO database to find articles.

Step 1. Search by typing a few unique keywords into the first search box. For example, classroom guidance

Key Word Search

Step 2. In the "LIMIT YOUR RESULTS" section of the search engine, select the Classification Codes 3500,3530, 3550, 3560. 3570, 3575, 3580 to limit the results to educational focused articles. Click the "SEARCH" button.

 Limit with Classification Codes

Step 3: On the results page, click on the Peer Reviewed on the left under "Refine your results" and click the Update button. Peruse the article titles to find a "pearl of an article" and click on a hyperlinked title to read the abstract.

Refine with Peer Reviewed

Step 4. After clicking on the hyperlinked title of a "pearl of an article," note the list of Subjects below the abstract. Using these terms will return more focused results. For example, try a search using the subject term Classrooms and select SU Subject in the drop down box at the top.  Add the term School Counselors and select SU Subjects from the drop down menu. Don't forget to limit to Peer Reviewed on the results page.

Subject Terms

Subject Term Search

VIDEOS on Finding quality articles in databases @ 7 minutes each

Learning outcomes: by the end of these 2 screencasts, you will:

  • know how to find education focused subject guides
  • apply database search strategies modeled to:
    • narrow your search
    • perform concept searches versus keyword searches
    • search in a more sophisticated manner
    • be able to identify quality academic articles
    • know the steps to finding the full text of an article