Skip to main content

PSY 4101 Adv. Research Methods: Animal Behavior: Find Books & Encyclopedias

Ethics and Animal Research Encyclopedias

Start with a Reference Book

Reference books (like the ones listed on the left) offer a concise overview of a topic and can help you narrow your topic.

The APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology is a great one with which to start.

Take a look at some of the chapter titles:

Volume 1:

1. Ethical foundations of psychology
2. Ethics and ethics codes for psychologists

 Volume 2:.

20. Laboratory animal research ethics: a practical, educational approach


To access this type of APA eBook,

  • click on the book title from the SPU Primo record, and then scroll down to the View It section to select the volume you prefer.

SPU Primo record for the APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology, showing the view full text links for each volume

  • Then select Book TOC [Table of Contents]: Chapter PDFs from the box on the right:

main page for APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology, showing Book TOC/Chapter PDF links on top right of page

  • Scroll down to see the chapter listed for that volume. Clicking on the title will show you the chapter description, and choosing the PDF option will display the full text for that chapter. You can choose to save the PDF for later if you prefer.

sample chapters of the APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology, with PDF link circled

Find books in SPU Primo

screenshot of SPU Primo search box filled with the phrase animal experimentation

Possible subject terms for your projects include:

  • animal experimentation
  • animal rights
  • animal welfare

Find Ethics and Animal Research Encyclopedias

screenshot of SPU Primo search of phrase animal encyclopediasEncyclopedias can provide an overview of your topic.  

Search SPU Primo to find encyclopedias or other reference sources on your topic by searching for your topic combined with

  • encyclopedias,
  • dictionaries, or
  • handbooks.

Browse the references of each article to find further resources on the subject.